Lionel Messi beats Ronaldo to become greatest player in the 21st century

Lionel Messi beats Ronaldo to become greatest player in the 21st century

Lionel Messi has again proven to be better off than his closest rival Cristiano Ronaldo after he was named the best player of the 21st century.

In a list compiled and broken down by British news media outfit Independent, each player were given points according to how they were ranked.

And Barcelona star Messi was regarded as the best player in the history of football beating his fiercest rival Roanldo.

READ ALSO: upgrades to

Here are the top 100 players in the 21st century selected by Independent

100. Yaya Toure

99. Harry Kane

98. Daniele De Rossi

97. Bastian Schweinsteiger

96. Vincent Kompany

95. Karim Benzema

94. Sol Campbell

93. Pepe

92. Edwin van der Sar

91. Arturo Vidal

90. Angel di Maria

89. Diego Forlan

88. Radamel Falcao

87. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

86. Robin van Persie

85. Carlos Tevez

84. Gaizka Mendieta

83. Virgil van Dijk

Super Eagles star beats Man City's Sterling, Chelsea's Jorginho to Premier League landmark

82. Hernan Crespo

81. Rio Ferdinand

80. Toni Kroos

79. Juan Roman Riquelme

78. Thomas Muller

77. Mohamed Salah

76. Diego Godin

75. David Silva

74. Eden Hazard

73. Cesc Fabregas

72. Deco

71. Lilian Thuram

70. Nemanja Vidic

69. Marcelo

68. Ryan Giggs

67. Antoine Griezmann

66. Clarence Seedorf

65. Wesley Sneijder

64. Gabriel Batistuta

63. Fernando Torres

62. Ruud van Nistelrooy

61. Claude Makelele

60. Sergio Aguero

59. Cafu

58. Miroslav Klose

57. Kevin de Bruyne

56. Henrik Larsson

55. Xabi Alonso

54. Dennis Bergkamp

53. Gareth Bale

52. Gerard Pique

51. Robert Lewandowski

50. Javier Zanetti

49. Didier Drogba

48. Michael Ballack

47. Oliver Kahn

46. Ashley Cole

45. Pavel Nedved

44. N'Golo Kante

43. Kylian Mbappe

42. Alessandro Del Piero

41. Alessandro Nesta

40. Patrick Vieira

39. Zlatan Ibrahimovic

38. Roberto Carlos

37. Rivaldo

36. Roy Keane

35. John Terry

34. Paul Scholes

33. David Villa

Iwobi opens up on what Everton manager did to improve his game against West Ham

32. Iker Casillas

31. Francesco Totti

30. Arjen Robben

29. Wayne Rooney

28. Raul Gonzalez

27. Manuel Neuer

26. Paolo Maldini

25. Dani Alves

24. Carles Puyol

23. Frank Lampard

22. Luka Modric

21. Samuel Eto'o

20. Neymar

19. Andrei Shevchenko

18. Steven Gerrard

17. Sergio Busquets

16. Luis Suarez

15. Luis Figo

14. Philipp Lahm

13. Gianluigi Buffon

12. Sergio Ramos

11. Andrea Pirlo

10. Fabio Cannavaro

9. Kaka

8. Zinedine Zidane

7. Thierry Henry

6. Ronaldo

5. Andres Iniesta

4. Ronaldinho

3. Xavi Hernandez

2. Cristiano Ronaldo

1. Lionel Messi

PAY ATTENTION: Install Pitch Football App for FREE to get the latest football News & Scores

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that Lionel Messi’s presentation of his sixth Golden shoe had his two sons Matteo and Thiago tussling on who would present the award.

Messi was presented with the award which goes to the top league scorer across Europe’s top tiers.

Nigerians reveal who will win Premier League title between Liverpool and Man City

Can Liverpool retain the Champions League Title | Legit TV


Mailfire view pixel