Sanwo-Olu’s cabinet: Speaker Obasa, lawmakers begin screening of nominees

Sanwo-Olu’s cabinet: Speaker Obasa, lawmakers begin screening of nominees

- The Lagos state House of Assembly commences screening of the 25 nominees sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu as part of his cabinet

- Speaker Mudashiru Obasa commends the governor for not wasting time in sending the names of those nominated to the House of Assembly

- The speaker declares that the House will only confirm nominees that truly prepared to serve the state

The Lagos state House of Assembly on Monday, July 22, began the process of screening the nominees that would make up the cabinet of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

However, the speaker of the House, Rt Hon Mudashiru Obasa, said at plenary that the legislature would do all within its powers to ensure that only the nominees who are ready to serve are confirmed as commissioners and special advisers. reports that Speaker Obasa said this after the names of the nominees were read. He also commended Governor Sanwo-Olu for being proactive in sending the list to the House within a short time.

READ ALSO: upgrades to a letter from our Editor-in-Chief Bayo Olupohunda

“This House will take this up immediately and do the needful as provided in the constitution by screening the nominees.

“We will do this diligently; we will consider what they have (nominees) and what they are bringing to the table to support the administration of the governor and how they intend to move the state forward.

“I want to assure His Excellency that we will do this to the best of our knowledge by making sure that those, at the end of the day will be cleared, are those who are ready to work with him and have all it takes to serve Lagos,” he said.

The names of the 25 nominees were read out to the lawmakers by Sanni Azeez, clerk of the House.

In the letter, the governor said he was sending the list to the House for the consideration of the lawmakers in accordance with section 192, part 2, chapter 6 of the 1999 constitution of Nigeria (as amended).

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

“The names and the resumes of the remaining nominees will also be forwarded in due course for the consideration and clearance of honourable members accordingly,” the letter read.

According to the letter, the names include: Rabiu Onaolapo, Folashade Adefisayo, Prof Akin Abayomi, Idris Salako, Tunji Bello, Gbenga Omotoso, Toke Benson-Awoyinka and Bolaji Dada.

Others include: Lere Odusote, Frederic Oladeinde, Gbolahan Lawal, Wale Ahmed, Wale Ahmed, Mr Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN), Hakeem Fahm and Ajibola Ponnle.

On the list also are Aramide Adeyoye, Segun Dawodu, Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Sam Egube, Ruth Olusanya, Princess Aderemi Adebowale, Tunbosun Alake and Afolabi Ayantayo, Adekemi Ajayi-Bembe and Femi George. earlier reported how Obasa, on Sunday, June 23, urged the governors of Edo, Godwin Obaseki, and Bauchi, Bala Mohammed, to immediately resolve the crises that have engulfed the respective state legislatures. ( -> We have upgraded to serve you better.

A lot of people in government come in for money - Abiola's daughter | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel