Ajimobi inaugurates 26-member transition committee

Ajimobi inaugurates 26-member transition committee

- A 26-member transition committee has been inaugurated by Governor Ajimobi ahead of the exit of his administration

- Ajimobi said the committee was expected to work for a month, expressing confidence that it would impact positively on the progress and development of the state

- The governor said his administration has raised the bar of governance in the state with its restoration, transformation and repositioning agenda

Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state, on Thursday, April 25, in Ibadan, inaugurated a 26-member transition committee ahead of the exit of his administration, describing it as another historic feat.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Ajimobi of APC, who is serving his second term as governor, is expected to hand over to Seyi Makinde of the PDP, the governor-elect, on May 29.

He said: “Subsequent upon the declaration by INEC of Seyi Makinde as the governor-elect of Oyo State, we are here to inaugurate the transition committee.

READ ALSO: IGP orders immediate reversal of Police 12-hour shift duty to 8-hours

“This committee is expected to handle the handing and taking over of government on May 29 as stipulated by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria."

Ajimobi said that his administration was the first to receive a governor-elect and was inaugurating a transition committee comprising both representatives of the incumbent and incoming governments in a congenial atmosphere.

According to him, “These for us are not just stunts for making history, but a demonstration of our strong belief in the true tenets of democracy, good governance, politics without bitterness and spirit of collective responsibility.

“I am happy that we have migrated from politics of brigandage which we used to experience before the inception of our administration in 2011.’’

He said that the committee was expected to work for a month, expressing confidence that it would impact positively on the progress and development of the state.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

He said: “The dividends of our tripod agenda now manifest in a peaceful, safe and secure Oyo State, which is ranked as the fifth most peaceful state in Nigeria.”

The governor said his administration had also made impact with its massive infrastructural revolution, innovative and result-oriented approach to education, pragmatic solutions to healthcare delivery and myriad of empowerment programmes, among others.

He said: “All these bear true testimonies to the fact that we will leave the state better than we met it."

The committee members included the secretary to the state government, Alhaji Olalekan Alli, who is to serve as chairman; head of service, Hannah Ogunesan; former head of service, Soji Eniade; attorney general, Oluwaseun Abimbola; commissioner for information, culture and tourism, Toye Arulogun.

Others are: Chief Isacc Ishola, commissioner for environment, Oyewole Oyewumi (agriculture), Azeez Adeduntan (health), Isaac Omodewu (lands and housing), Abimbola Kolade (local government and chieftaincy affairs), Adeniyi Olowofela (education, science and technology) and Abimbola Adekanbi (finance, budget and planning).

The rest are: Dr. Isiaka Kolawole, Dr. Ayandele Ayanyinka, Segun Bolarinwa and D.O. Olatunde, who is to serve as secretary.

Members of the committee drawn from the incoming government are: Senator Hosea Ayoola Agbola, Chief Bisi Ilaka, Hon. Debo Ogundoyin, Miss Lolade Ajibola and Adeniyi Afeez.

Others are; Barrister Semiu Ashamu, Dr. E.V. Bello, Wale Adepoju, Hon. Temi Adibi and Miss Oyedijo Bosede Famola.

Earlier, Legit.ng reported that the APC accused the outgoing governor of Ogun, Ibikunle Amosun, of engaging in last-minute sales and auctioning of government properties and award of contracts.

The party in Ogun state made the allegations in a statement in which it further accused the governor of engaging in secret recruitment into the civil service.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng. We have upgraded to serve you better.

When last did you have light in your area? | Legit TV:

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel