Buhari declines assent to 5 more bills

Buhari declines assent to 5 more bills

- President Muhammadu Buhari has declined to give assent to five bills, bringing the total number of rejected bills to 26

- The president explained his reason for refusing to give assent to some of the bills

- The Senate had earlier set up a panel to look into the bills rejected by the president

On Wednesday, March 20, President Muhammadu Buhari once again declined assent to five bills passed by the National Assembly.

The Guardian reports that the latest additions bring the total number of bills passed by the eighth National Assembly and rejected by the president to 26.

READ ALSO: Kano NBA demands apology from police over alleged harassment of members

Legit.ng gathers that the president listed the newly rejected bills to include the Nigerian Film Corporation Bill, Immigration (Amendment) Bill, Climate Change Bill, Chattered Institute of Pension Practitioners Bill as well as Digital Rights and Freedom Bill, in a letter addressed to Senate President Bukola Saraki and read at Wednesday’s plenary.

Explaining the reason for his action, the president said he rejected the Immigration Bill because if signed into law, it would have an adverse effect on Nigeria’s position on the Ease of Doing Business ranking.

He added that the Chattered Institute of Pension Practitioners Bill amounted to duplication of functions with an existing institute.

Since 2015, the president has rejected bills including the Petroleum Industry Governance Bill (PIGB), Stamp Duties (Amendment) Bill, Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill, Industrial Development (Income Tax Relief) (Amendment) Bill, National Research and Innovation Council (Est.) Bill, National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism (Est.) Bill and National Agricultural Seeds Council Bill, among others.

A Technical Committee on Declined Assent to Bills which would look into bills rejected by the president had earlier been set up by the upper legislative chamber.

The panel is chaired by David Umaru and had submitted its report in December 2018. The document has, however, not yet been considered.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Recall that Legit.ng previously reported that President Muhammadu Buhari declined assent to five different bills sent to him by the National Assembly.

Senate President Bukola Saraki read the rejection letter at the resumption of plenary on Wednesday, January 16.

The bills are: Maritime Security Operations Coordinating Board (Amendment) Bill, 2019 and the Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission (Amendment) Bill 2018, Bankruptcy and Insolvency Bill 2018, Federal Polytechnic (Amendment) Bill 2018 and the Energy Commission (Amendment) Bill.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng: Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Nigerians set 2nd term agenda for President Buhari - on Legit TV:

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel