WAEC de-recognises 13 schools, warns 56 others in Kogi (Full List)

WAEC de-recognises 13 schools, warns 56 others in Kogi (Full List)

- Thirteen schools have been de-recognised by the West African Examinations Council (WAEC) in Kogi state

- The schools were said to have been involvement in examination malpractice during the 2018 West African Senior School Certificate Examinations (WASSCE)

- Also, WAEC has warned about 56 other schools against examination malpractice

The West African Examinations Council (WAEC) has de-recognised 13 secondary schools and warns 56 others in Kogi for their involvement in examination malpractice during the 2018 West African Senior School Certificate Examinations (WASSCE).

Ademu Amos, WAEC Desk Officer, Kogi Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, disclosed this at a meeting with the principals, vice Principals and examination officers of the affected schools on Thursday, March 14, in Lokoja.

Amos said that 13 secondary schools were de-recognised while 56 others were seriously warned by the council due to examination malpractice.

He noted that the state government was not happy about the development, describing it as a serious issue that could dampen the hope of a nation.

According to Amos, the Examination Malpractices Act No. 33 of the 1999 Constitution (as amended), offenders are liable to four years imprisonment and a fine of N100, 000 per student and N250,000 per school.

Amos explained that the major offences committed ranged from the use of mobile phones and sameness of work by copying one another in the examination.

Natty Bobai, WAEC Branch Controller in the state, said it had zero tolerance for examination malpractice and would do everything to curtail the menace.

READ ALSO: Breaking: INEC reveals next plan on Rivers governorship, state assembly elections

He, however, commended the commissioner for tackling issues bordering on examination headlong and commended her resolve to stand with the council for what it stood for.

Amos also urged the stakeholders to join hands with the council in stamping out the menace of examination malpractice in the nation’s education sector.

Rosemary Osikoya, the state Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, reiterated the commitment of the state government to reduce examination malpractice to its barest minimum in the state.

Osikoya stressed the need for stiffer penalties as prescribed by law and other stringent measures to curb the menace in the state.

She noted that 47 secondary schools were de-recognised and 108 warned in 2017, while 13 schools were de-recognised and 56 warned in 2018.

She said the state government had been able to reduce the trend to 27. 6% for de-recognition, 50.9% warned, while 1.38% were indicted.

She restated the commitment of the state government in restoring standard and quality education in schools across the state.

She, however, urged all the school operators, both private and public, to visit the ministry’s website and update their school profiles and records not later than March 31.

”All the de-recognised schools will not be used as examinations centres in 2019, and their names will be sent to the police for prosecution according to the existing law.

”We have strengthened the policy structure in education in the state and emphasised the importance of record keeping in schools,” Osikoya said.

Ajole Goswins, the State President of All Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), who spoke on behalf of the principals, expressed disappointment over the re-appearance of some schools on examination malpractice list.

”The state government is doing its best and we must complement its efforts. We cannot allow this to continue, we must improve on ourselves,’’ he said.

He, therefore, appealed to the state government to checkmate the proliferation of substandard private schools in the state.

The de-recognised schools include:

1. Jama’atu Nasril Islam Secondary School, Ankpa,

2. Christ the King College

3. Government Girls Secondary School, Okaba

4. Ikah Community Secondary School, Ikah

5. Iyale Community Secondary School, Iyale

6. Aitam Science Academy, Anyigba

7. Al-Ansar Secondary School

8. Lokoja, Bright Future International Secondary School

9. Obangede, Okehi, Community Secondary School Uboro

10. Okehi, Paramako Secondary School

11, Ogbogbo, Omabo Community Secondary School Omabo.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

13. First Grade Success Academy, Okenya

13. National Secondary School Agala-Ate road, Anyigba.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng previously reported that the results of the Senior School Certificate Examination (SSCE) for private candidates were released on Tuesday, March 5, by the West African Examination Council (WAEC) with those of not less than 376 students withheld over malpractice.

Also, Olu Adenipekun, the head of the Nigerian office of WAEC, revealed that the examination body is working on plans to introduce electronic marking (e-marking).

Adenipekun said: “A total of 3,102 candidates obtained credit and above in a minimum of five subjects, including English Language and General Mathematics.”

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng: Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

Meet 15 Year-Old Nigerian Wizkid Who Made 9 As in his WAEC | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel