FG okays Oshiomhole, APC bigwigs as members of Buhari's inauguration committee

FG okays Oshiomhole, APC bigwigs as members of Buhari's inauguration committee

- The committee to take charge of the inauguration ceremony of President Muhammadu Buhari was set up on Thursday, March 14

- The committee is to take care of the planning and execution of activities of President Buhari's swearing-in ceremony

- It is made up of bigwigs of the All Progressives Congress (APC), including its national chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, and heads of security agencies

The federal government, through Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, on Thursday, March 14, inaugurated an inter-ministerial presidential inauguration committee for the swearing-in ceremony of President Muhammadu Buhari which is to take place on Wednesday, May 29.

READ ALSO: NAIJ.com upgrades to Legit.ng: a letter from our Editor-in-Chief Bayo Olupohunda

The inauguration of the committee was done in Abuja by Mustapha, who is also its chairman. He urged members of the committee to maintain unity with other sub-committees.

The SGF revealed that the sub-committees would be members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its support groups, in order to ensure the smoothness of the forthcoming swearing-in ceremony.

The committee was also inaugurated to plan, organise and perform activities during President Buhari's inauguration ceremony.

Members of the committee include Adams Oshiomhole, the APC's national chairman, as well as eight ministers and heads of security agencies.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

See full list below:

Secretary to the Government of the Federation - chairman

Minister of information and culture - member

Minister of interior - member

Minister of foreign affairs - member

Minister of FCT - member

Minister of defence - member

Minister of health - member

Minister of education - member

Minister of state (aviation) - member

National chairman of the All Progressives Congress (Adams Oshimhole) - member

Inspector General of Police - member

Director General (Department State Service) - member

Commander, Brigade of Guards - member

Permanent Secretary (State House) - member

Permanent Secretary (general services office) - member

Permanent Secretary (political and economic affairs office) - member and secretary

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that the presidency had stated that President Buhari would likely dissolve his cabinet before his inauguration for a second term in office on May 29.

Legit.ng had reported that Buhari won his re-election, polling over 15 million votes to defeat his main challenger and presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar.

Femi Adesina, the spokesman to President Buhari, in an interview said the president is expected to officially dissolve his cabinet at the expiration of the first tenure on May 29.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng: Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

INEC announces Buhari as 2019 election winner, Nigerians react | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel