PDP loses Atiku's federal constituency to APC

PDP loses Atiku's federal constituency to APC

- The APC won Mayo-Belwa/Jada/Ganye/Toungo‎ federal constituency in Adamawa

- Abdulrazak Namdas, the APC candidate, polled a big victory over his PDP counterpart with 62,374 votes

- Namdas was one of Atiku Abubakar's ally before the vice president defected to the PDP

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has lost Mayo-Belwa/Jada/Ganye/Toungo‎ federal constituency in Adamawa to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Abdulrazak Namdas, the APC candidate in the federal constituency, polled a total of ‎62,374 votes to defeat his PDP opponent, Kabiru Muktar, who was only able to secure 61,436, Daily Trust reports.

READ ALSO: INEC presents certificate of return to Buhari after election victory

The returning officer of the constituency, Professor Ismail Haruna, announced the results in Jada which is the headquarters of the constituency.

It was reported that Namdas, who presently occupies the seat, was one of the political boys to Atiku, but refused to follow the former vice president when he defected from APC to PDP.

His decision to remain in the party was reportedly based on the N22.7 billion contract for the construction of Mayo-Belwa/Jada/Ganye/Toungo road awarded by the Buhari administration for his constituency.

It should be noted also that Namdas is the only APC member who had an election win in the Adamawa South senatorial zone.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile, Legit.ng previously reported that Atiku rejected the result of the election won by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Legit.ng also gathered that Atiku, who had kept mute since Monday, February 25, when the results showed that he was going to be the loser, described the election as a sham.

The former vice president said if he had lost in a free and fair election, he would have called the victor within seconds of being aware of his victory to offer not just his congratulations.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng: Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

INEC announces Buhari as 2019 election winner, Nigerians react | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel