Atiku wins 25 of 27 LGs Imo

Atiku wins 25 of 27 LGs Imo

- Atiku Abubakar has won 25 of the 27 local government announced in Imo state

- President Buhari won in two LGAs, Oru East and Ideato South

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, has won the 2019 presidential poll in Imo state.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the results were announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returning officer in Imo, Prof. Benjamin Ozurumba on Monday.

READ ALSO: Live updates: INEC begins official declaration of presidential election results

He said the PDP won in 25 local government areas to defeat its closest rival, the All Progressives Congress (APC) that won two, Oru East and Ideato South.

Local government areas won by the PDP are Oguta, Isu, Nwangele, Ezinihite Mbaise, Nkwerre, Oru west, Njaba, Owerri North, Onuimo, Ohaji-Egbema, Owerri municipal, Ahiazu Mbaise and Ngor Okpala.

Others are Orlu, Owerri West, Aboh Mbaise, Ehime Mbano, Obowo, Ikeduru, Mbaitoli, Isiala Mbano, Orsu, Ihitte-Uboma, Ideato North and Okigwe.

Ozurumba said that the PDP scored a total of 334,923 votes to beat the APC that polled 140,463 votes and the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) that polled 10,880 votes.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Out of a total of 542,777 votes cast, 511,586 were valid while 31,191 votes were rejected.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that angry voters protesting alleged election fraud Sunday evening set ablaze the INEC office in Isiala Mbano local government area of Imo state.

Eyewitnesses claimed that election materials had been moved out of the building before the protesters descended on it. ( -> We have updated to serve you better

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo casts his vote, boasts of APC victory - on Legit TV:


Mailfire view pixel