Saraki denies congratulating APC senator-elect

Saraki denies congratulating APC senator-elect

Yusuph Olaniyonu, special adviser, media and publicity to president of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, has denied reports that Saraki congratulated APC senator-elect, Ibrahim Oloriegbe.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Oloriegbe, the APC candidate, who contested against Saraki in Saturday’s National Assembly election, won the Kwara central senatorial district.

Olaniyonu in a statement on Monday, February 25, urged party supporters to disregard the report which claimed Saraki conceded defeat to Oloriegbe.

READ ALSO: INEC officially declares Buhari as winner in Osun

He said: "The position of the Saraki camp will be communicated to the public later today (Monday). The public should disregard any fictitious statements being issued and shared on WhatsApp.

"Our position on the election will be communicated later today. In the interim, the APC should stop issuing statements congratulating itself and ascribing it to our camp."

Meanwhile, had reported that Senate President, Bukola Saraki, lost his bid for reelection into the Senate from Kwara Central on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Saraki lost to Yahaya Oloriegbe of the APC in Saturday’s February 23 senatorial election.

Oloriegbe polled a total of 123, 808 votes to defeat the Senate president who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara Central senatorial district.

The result of the election was announced by the senatorial district returning officer, Olatunbosun Owoyomi, from the University of Ilorin. In Asa local government, Oloriegbe of the APC polled a total of 15, 932 votes to defeat Saraki that scored 11, 252 votes.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

The APC candidate also got 30, 014 votes in Ilorin East local government to 14, 654 polled by his PDP rival in the senatorial race. In Ilorin West, stronghold of Senator Saraki, Oloriegbe polled 51, 531 votes to defeat the senate president with 30, 075 votes.

Live updates: INEC begins official declaration of presidential election results

The situation was the same in Ilorin South, where the APC senatorial candidate floored the Senate president with 26, 331 votes as against 13, 031 votes garnered by Saraki. Similarly, APC’s candidates won the the House of Representatives seats in Asa/Ilorin West and Ilorin South/Ilorin East federal constituencies. ( -> upgrades to serve you better

2019 Election: We are retrogressing in Nigeria – 83-year-old man says after voting - on Legit TV:


Mailfire view pixel