2019 election: Jimoh retains APC Lagos Mainland Rep

2019 election: Jimoh retains APC Lagos Mainland Rep

- INEC has declared Jide Jimoh as the winner of Saturday’s February 23 election for Lagos Mainland federal constituency

- Jimoh retains the seat having being declared the winner by INEC's returning officer, Prof Iyiola Oni

- The APC candidate cruised to victory by polling 22,073 votes to defeat his closest rival, Tajudeen Agoro

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for Lagos Mainland federal constituency, Jide Jimoh, as winner of Saturday’s February 23 election.

Prof Iyiola Oni, the returning officer of the election announced the result at the federal constituency collation centre located in St. Agnes Primary School, Sabo-Yaba, at about 5:45 am on Monday, February 25, NAN reports.

Oni, the dean, faculty of social sciences, University of Lagos, said that Jimoh polled a total of 22,073 votes to defeat his closest rival from the Peoples Democratic Party, Tajudeen Agoro who got 16,834 votes.

READ ALSO: Live updates: Situation reports and collation of results across the country - Day 2

Oni said: "At the end of the exercise, Jimoh Abdulraheem Olajide of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected."

According to him, Sherifat Ogbola of Accord Party scored 40 votes, Balogun Usman of AD polled 88 votes, Olugbenga Shobowale of ADC polled 212 votes while Olaide Abiodun got only 5 votes.

Oni said that Olorunwa Ogunsemore of MPN scored 21 votes, Adewunmi Ogunlola of PPN got 45 votes, Kayode Hadiza of SDP scored 24 votes while Oluwatoyin Akande of YES party got 31 votes.

He said that the total number of votes cast was 42,838, total valid votes was 40,253 while the total rejected votes was 2,585.

The party agents took turn to sign the results.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile, Legit.ng previously reported that the INEC on Sunday, February 24, declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Shina Peller, the winner of the Iseyin/ Itesiwaju/ Iwajowa and Kajola federal constituency seat in Oyo state.

INEC’s returning officer, Prof. Adeniyi Olatunbosun, who declared the result, said Peller polled a total of 44,088 votes to beat PDP’s Najeemdeen Oyedeji, who polled 31,336.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng We keep evolving to serve our readers better

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo casts his vote, boasts of APC victory - on Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel