APC wins all senatorial seats in Kwara

APC wins all senatorial seats in Kwara

Results released by the Independent National Electoral Commission showed that the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all three senatorial seats in Kwara state.

The party at the National Assembly election conducted on Saturday, February 23, won in Kwara south, north and central senatorial districts. In the state north senatorial district, APC also polled 98,170 votes to defeat the PDP which polled 33,364.

The APC candidate, Umar Sadiq, was consequently declared the winner of the legislative seat. The total number of registered voters in the district was put at 386,969 while the total votes cast was put at 137,456, Premium Times reports.

READ ALSO: Dino Melaye wins Kogi west senatorial seat

Rejected votes were 4,544 and total valid votes were put at 132,912.

In Kwara south senatorial district, Lola Ashiru, the APC candidate also emerged victorious.

Sylvia Malomo, returning officer for the election, while declaring the result at the Irepodun local government secretariat in Omu-Aran, said Ashiru polled 89,704 to emerge the winner.

His closest rival, Rafiu Ibrahim of the Peoples Democratic Party, polled 45,176 votes. Ibrahim is chairman of the Senate committee on banking.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The total number of registered voters in the district was put at 432,499, with total valid votes at 136,889. The total number of rejected votes was 3,119 while votes cast were 140,006.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had reported that Senate president, Bukola Saraki, lost his bid for reelection into the Senate from Kwara central on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Saraki lost to Yahaya Oloriegbe of the APC in Saturday’s February 23, senatorial election. Oloriegbe polled a total of 123,808 votes to defeat the Senate president who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara Central senatorial district.

Follow live updates of situation reports and collation of results across Nigeria

The result of the election was announced by the senatorial district returning officer, Olatunbosun Owoyomi, from the University of Ilorin.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng upgrades to serve you better

2019 Election: We are retrogressing in Nigeria – 83-year-old man says after voting - on Legit TV:

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel