APC wins PDP in Adeleke’s senatorial district

APC wins PDP in Adeleke’s senatorial district

The senatorial seat currently being occupied by Senator Ademola Adeleke, Osun West senatorial district, has been won by the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Daily Trust reports that Engr Lere Oriolowo who is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the senatorial election which took place on Saturday, February 23.

READ ALSO: Breaking: Dino Melaye wins Kogi west senatorial seat

Engr Oriolowo polled 102,147 votes while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Alhaji Lere Oyewumi scored 97,294 votes. Prince Dotun Babayemi of the African Democratic Party (ADP), came third with 42,915.

The APC has now won two senatorial seats, Central and West, while the PDP grabbed one (East).

President Muhamadu Buhari also defeated the former vice president, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, in Osun.

Meanwhile, the candidate of the APC, Ajibola Basiru, has been declared winner of Osun Central senatorial election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Nation reports that Bashiru was declared winner by the Returning Officer for the senatorial district, Professor Titilayo Adelaje from the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

He scored 132,821 votes to beat his major opponent, Alhaji Ganiyu Ola-Oluwa of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 106,779 votes.

Legit.ng gathered that Basiru was former commissioner for special duties and regional integration in the first term of former Governor Rauf Aregbesola and later the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice in the second tenure of the same government.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng upgrades to serve you better

2019 Election: We are retrogressing in Nigeria – 83-year-old man says after voting - on Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel