Breaking: Dino Melaye wins Kogi West senatorial seat

Breaking: Dino Melaye wins Kogi West senatorial seat

Senator Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared the winner of the Kogi West senatorial election held on February 23.

The returning officer, Professor Emmanuel Bala, announced in the early hours of Monday in Lokoja that Melaye polled 85,395 votes to defeat Senator Smart Adeyemi of the All Progressives Congress who scored 66,901 votes.

Also, Alhaji Abdulkarim Isah – Wambai of the APC has been declared winner of the House of Representatives election for Lokoja-Koto federal constituency.

READ ALSO: Drama as Okorocha, PDP candidate storm Imo west collation centre as returning officer stops process

The returning officer, Prof. Muhammed Suleiman said that Wambai scored 37, 656 votes to beat Mr Shaba Ibrahim of PDP who polled 33,662 votes.

Osun result sheet.

Osun result sheet.
Source: UGC

Recall that earlier reported that Melaye was in the lead after the returning officer for Kogi West Senatorial district, Prof Bala announced the results of four out of seven local government councils in the district.

The PDP candidate, Senator Dino Melaye, was in a clear lead over Senator Smart Adeyemi of the APC.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Bala who announced the results in Lokoja Sunday evening said Adeyemi polled 18,800 votes in Lokoja local government while Melaye scored 24, 576 votes.

Meanwhile, Senate president, Bukola Saraki, lost his bid for re-election into the Senate from Kwara Central on the platform of the PDP. earlier reported that Saraki lost to Yahaya Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Saturday’s February 23 senatorial election.

Oloriegbe polled a total of 123, 808 votes to defeat the Senate president who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara central senatorial district.

Follow's Live updates on situation reports and collation of results across the country (Day 2) here. ( -> We have updated to serve you better

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo casts his vote, boasts of APC victory - on Legit TV:


Mailfire view pixel