Governor Dankwambo loses senatorial seat to APC

Governor Dankwambo loses senatorial seat to APC

- Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo has lost his bid to become the senator representing Gombe North

- Dankwambo, a candidate of the PDP, lost to APC candidate, Sa'idu Alkali

- The governor was defeated in four out of the five local government areas in the district

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)'s senatorial candidate in Gombe north, Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo, has been defeated by Alhaji Sa’idu Alkali of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Saturday’s National Assembly election.

News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Gombe North senatorial district has five local government areas; Nafada, Kwami, Gombe, Dukku, and Funakaye.

Dankwambo was defeated in four out of the five LGAs in the district including his LGAs which is Gombe.

READ ALSO: Live updates: Situation reports and collation of results across the country - Day 2

Umar Gurama, the returning officer of Gombe North senatorial district, announced the results at the Independent National Electoral Commission's office, the collation centre in Mallam Sidi, Kwami LGA.

Gurama declared Alkali winner of the election, having fulfilled the requirements of the law and scored the highest votes in Gombe North senatorial district.

Alhaji Sa’idu Alkali of APC scored 152,546 votes to defeat Governor Dankwambo of the PDP, who scored 88, 016 votes.

“In Kwami LGA, APC scored 26,964 votes while the PDP scored 14,105 votes.

In Gombe LGA, APC scored 60, 934 votes against PDP’s 31, 106.

“In Dukku LGA, APC scored 26,394 votes while the PDP, polled 13,106 votes.

“In Funakaye LGA, APC scored 28,544 votes against 17,204 votes for PDP."

However, Governor Dankwambo won in Nafada LGA, scoring 12,335 votes while APC scored 9,710 votes.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Nafada is the hometown of the PDP governorship candidate, Sen. Usman Nafada of Gombe North Senatorial District.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that the speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, retained his seat in the National Assembly after winning the Tafawa Balewa/Bogoro federal constituency election in Bauchi state.

Dogara who contested the election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), polled 73,609 votes to defeat Dalhatu Abubakar Kantana of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 50,708 votes. ( -> We have updated to serve you better.

#Elections2019: Abuja votes, displays massive turnout at Jabi Sharki| Legit TV


Mailfire view pixel