Breaking: Saraki loses Senate seat to APC candidate Oloriegbe in Kwara

Breaking: Saraki loses Senate seat to APC candidate Oloriegbe in Kwara

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, has lost his bid for reelection into the Senate from Kwara Central on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

NAN reports that Saraki lost to Yahaya Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Saturday’s February 23 senatorial election. gathers that Oloriegbe polled a total of 123,808 votes to defeat the Senate president who scored 68,994 votes in the four local governments of Kwara Central senatorial district.

READ ALSO: Live updates: Situation reports and collation of results across the country - Day 2

The result of the election was announced by the senatorial district returning officer, Prof Olatunbosun Owoyomi, from the University of Ilorin.

In Asa local government, Oloriegbe of the APC polled a total of 15, 932 votes to defeat Saraki that scored 11, 252 votes.

The APC candidate also got 30, 014 votes in Ilorin East local government to 14, 654 polled by his PDP rival in the senatorial race.

In Ilorin West, stronghold of Senator Saraki, Oloriegbe polled 51, 531 votes to defeat the senate president with 30, 075 votes.

The situation was the same in Ilorin South, where the APC senatorial candidate floored the Senate president with 26, 331 votes as against 13, 031 votes garnered by Saraki.

Similarly, APC’s candidates won the the House of Representatives seats in Asa/Ilorin West and Ilorin South/Ilorin East federal constituencies

In the presidential election, APC maintained the lead in 14 out of the 15 local governments already announced.

It was also gathered that PDP only led in Oke Ero local government with 6,242 votes to 6,079 votes polled by APC.

See the result of the election as reported by The Cable:

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile, earlier reported that Senate president, Bukola Saraki, hasd lost the second local government out of four local governments in his senatorial district.

Saraki lost in Ilorin east local government to his main challenger, Ibrahim Oloriegbe, of All Progressives Congress (APC). ( -> We have updated to serve you better

Saraki is key to Atiku winning in 2019 - Primate Ayodele| Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel