Landslide victory for APC as party wins 3 Senate, 6 Reps seats in Ekiti

Landslide victory for APC as party wins 3 Senate, 6 Reps seats in Ekiti

- The ruling party, All Progressive Congress, has cruised to easy victory in Ekiti state

- The party won massive by carting way 3 Senate seats and 6 House of Representatives seats

- The governor of the state, Kayode Fayemi, expressed joy with the victory, adding that the polls were peaceful

It was a massive victory for All Progressive Congress (APC) as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) reportedly declared that the party won of all the 3 Senate seats for Ekiti state.

The Nation reports that the ruling party also cruised to victory by winning 6 House of Representatives seats in the just concluded presidential and National Assembly election. gathers that INEC returning officer for Ekiti South senatorial district, Prof. Laide Lawal, declared former minister, Prince Dayo Adeyeye, of the APC as the winner.

READ ALSO: Follow Live updates: INEC begins official declaration of presidential election results

It was reported that Adeyeye got a total number of 77,621 votes to defeat the incumbent Senate minority leader, Biodun Olujimi, who recorded 53,741 votes.

APC' s Opeyemi Bamidele also defeated his close challenger, Obafemi Adewale of APC, pulling 94,279 to defeat Adewale, who got 46, 707 votes.

Similarly, Senator Olubunmi Adetunmbi of the APC was also declared the winner in the Ekiti North Senatorial district election.

Adetunmbi was declared winner by the INEC returning officer, Prof. Fasina Abayomi, having polled 60, 689 votes to defeat the incumbent and candidate of the PDP, Duro Faseyi. Faseyi reportedly polled 49, 209 votes.

Also in the House of Representatives results announced by INEC, APC's Olarewaju Ibrahim defeated Olusola Omotosho of PDP to win the Ekiti North federal constituency II. Adaramodu got 29,388 votes to defeat his close challenger Omotosho, who got 23, 684 votes

Also, Hon.Yemi Adaramodu of the APC was reported to have polled 41,864 votes to defeat PDP candidate, Segun Adekola, who scored 24,707 votes to win Ekiti South federal constituency 1.

For the Ekiti Central federal constituency 1, APC's Sola Fatoba scored 55482 votes to defeat his arch rival, Ayodele Oladimeji of the PDP, who scored 27, 836 votes.

Expressing joy over the victory, Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti state was reported to have said: “We have every reason to thank God for the peaceful conduct of the election in Ekiti state.

“Two weeks ago, the congregation here raised prayer points concerning the peaceful conduct of the election in our state. And God indeed answered our prayers.

“The elections held in a peaceful atmosphere in Ekiti. We pray for the repose of the lives lost during the election in some parts of the country and pray that peace will reign supreme in the country.

“While I rejoice with the winners, I will also urge them to be humble realising that they could not have won by their power or might but by God’s grace.''

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update had previously reported that Opeyemi Bamidele, the All Progressive Congress (APC) senatorial candidate for Ekiti Central, had reportedly emerged victorious in the Saturday, February 23 election held in Ekiti state.

Bamidele, a former House of Representatives member between 2011 and 2015, was declared the authentic winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), having polled a total number of 94,279 votes. ( -> We keep evolving to serve our readers better

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo casts his vote, boasts of APC victory - on Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel