Elections 2019: IGP deploys 55 additional CPs to man 109 senatorial zones

Elections 2019: IGP deploys 55 additional CPs to man 109 senatorial zones

- Ahead of the general elections, IGP Mohammed Abubakar Adamu has deployed more police commissioners nationwide to tighten security

- IGP Adamu deployed not less than 55 additional police commissioners to man all the 109 senatorial zones in the country

- Added to this, the police boss also ordered the restriction of movement on Saturday, February 16, from 6am - 6pm

In an effort to ensure security, during the general polls, the acting Inspector General of Police (IGP) Mohammed Abubakar Adamu has deployed not less than 55 commissioners of police and other deputy commissioners of the force to monitor all the 109 senatorial zones in Nigeria.

Meanwhile, the force had deployed some commissioners of police in the 36 states of the federation and Abuja. Added to this, some Assistant Inspector Generals (AIGs) were also deployed to coordinates the commissioners of police in all the states of the federation for the elections, Vanguard reports.

READ ALSO: NAIJ.com upgrades to Legit.ng: a letter from our Editor-in-Chief Bayo Olupohunda

The nationwide deployments are as follow: CP Mohammed Dan Mallam is deployed to Edo as CP for elections duty; CP Uche Anozie is to take charge of Edo north senatorial district, CP Edna Obioderi Ugbubor for Edo central senatorial district and DCP Jimoh Abdulkadri for Edo south senatorial district.

CP Odumosu, CP Edo state is deployed to federal operations at force headquarters for elections duty.

For Oyo, CP Adamu Sule Jajere is to take charge of Oyo north senatorial district; DCP Titilayo Kagode takes charge of Oyo central Senatorial district.

For Kano state, CP Usman Sule Gomina takes charge of Kano south senatorial district, DCP Ben Nebolisa Okolo takes charge of Kano central senatorial district while DCP Mohammed Ahmed Banda takes charge of Kano north senatorial district.

For Ogun State, CP Olugbenga Adeyanju is to take charge of Ogun central senatorial district, CP Finmihan Adeoye is to take charge of Ogun west senatorial district, CP Agunbiade Olasore is to take charge of Ogun east senatorial district.

For Delta state, CP Nkeruwem Akpan takes charge of Delta North, CP Mobolaji Olaniyi takes charge of Delta central, CP Ndatsu Aliyu Mohammed takes charge of Delta south.

For Lagos state, CP Ebrimson Kenneth takes charge of Lagos central Senatorial district; CP David Akinremi takes charge of Lagos west senatorial district while DCP Bankole Sikiru takes charge of Lagos east senatorial district. AIG David Folawiyo is to coordinate the CPs in Lagos state.

Moreover, the IGP has ordered the restriction of vehicular movement from 6am – 6pm on Saturday, February 16.

ACP Frank Mba, the force public relations officer, in a statement said: “The IGP notes that the restriction will assist the security agencies in effectively policing the electoral process, thereby preventing hoodlums and criminally-minded elements from hijacking and disrupting the electoral process.

"He urges the citizens to troupe out en-masse on the day of the election to exercise their franchise without any fear or apprehension as the Police and other security agencies have already put in place adequate security measures to ensure a safe, secure and conducive environment for a peaceful and credible election.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

"While regretting the inconveniences the restriction will cause the citizens, the IGP however warns that the Force will deal decisively with any individual(s) or group(s) that will want to test our common will in our resolve to ensure a peaceful election.

"He, therefore, enjoins the citizens to steer-clear of vote buying, vote selling, hate speeches, circulating fake news, snatching of ballot boxes and other act(s) capable of truncating the people’s will noting that the Force will not hesitate to bring to bear the full weight of the law on anyone who engages in any crime during this period."

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that Kayode Egbetokun, a former chief security officer to the national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, had been appointed as the commissioner of police for Kwara state.

Egbetokun’s appointment and deployment alongside 36 others, was approved by the Police Service Commission (PSC).

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng: Same great journalism, upgraded for better service!

2019 Election: New IGP Speaks Tough | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel