2019: Zamfara APC names members of campaign committees

2019: Zamfara APC names members of campaign committees

- As the elections fast approaches, the Zamfara state chapter of the APC has released names of the members of its campaign committees

- The committee which is made up of 111 members, has Governor Yari as chairman of the presidential APC rally campaign committee

- The party nominated 37 members to take care of the campaign activities in each of the 14 local government areas

The Zamfara state chapter of the All Progressives Congress on Tuesday, January 29, named the members of its campaign committees, ahead of the February 16 and March 2 general elections. The state chairman of APC, Lawal Liman, made this known to newsmen in Gusau.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that since October 7, 2018, the issue of APC primary elections in the state had been lingering, characterised by litigation.

The state high court 3, Gusau, presided over by Bello Shinkafi, upheld the primary elections conducted by the state APC under the leadership of Liman.

READ ALSO: House of Reps passes national minimum wage bill

The court also directed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to accept the list of all the candidates produced by the primaries.

But a Federal High Court in Abuja had given a different judgment, holding that the INEC acted within its powers by refusing to accept the list of candidates from the APC in Zamfara State.

Liman said the campaign committees are categorised as follows: “Main Committee which comprised 60 members under the leadership of the Chief of Staff to Governor Abdulaziz Yari, Abdullahi Abdulkarim.

He said: “The state APC Secretary, Alhaji Sani Musa, is to serve as secretary. We also have local government committees which comprised 518 members.

“In each of the 14 local government areas, we have 37 members nominated by the party to take care of the campaign activities in their respective areas.''

READ ALSO: NAIJ.com upgrades to Legit.ng: a letter from our Editor-in-Chief Bayo Olupohunda

According to him, the party also nominated Yari as chairman of the presidential APC rally campaign committee.

He said that the committee has 111 members; with secretary to the state government, Abdullahi Shinkafi, as secretary.

Liman thanked the APC supporters in the state for the cooperation given to the leadership of the party in the state. He urged them to continue to cooperate and support the APC in order to provide meaningful developmental projects in the state and Nigeria in general.

Recall that INEC had barred the APC from fielding candidates in Rivers and Zamfara following its failure to meet the deadline for the primary election in the state.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had reported that the APC, United Kingdom chapter, released the names of members of its Presidential Campaign Committee for the 2019 general elections.

Jacob Ogunseye, the APC UK publicity secretary said the presidential campaign committee for the 2019 general elections was constituted to support the party’s activities in Nigeria.

He said the committee was expected to support the APC presidential campaign council in Nigeria in ensuring the victory of President Muhammadu Buhari and the other party’s candidates at all levels in the 2019 general elections. He stressed that the committee would do everything possible to highlight the achievements of the President Buhari-led administration during the campaigns, even in the UK.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng upgrades to serve you better

Nigerians rip Buhari, Atiku apart over absence at presidential debate - on Legit TV:

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel