All about the Nigerian League resumption after premature conclusion

All about the Nigerian League resumption after premature conclusion

Nigeria Professional Football League season resumes on Sunday, January 13, with 24 teams set to battle for the ultimate prize at the end of the season.

Six matches will go down on the opening day of the season while others have been rescheduled due to the recently concluded Super 8 tourney in Aba.

And the remaining two are due to the teams campaigning in CAF Competitions - with Lobi getting off their Champions League quest off to a winning start.

READ ALSO: Chelsea beat Newcastle United 2-1 in tough Premier League meeting at Stamford Bridge

According to the League Management Company, the 2018-19 league season will be an abridged league with the 24 campaigners shared into two groups of 12 teams each.

As stipulated by the LMC, the league will come to an end in May after which each teams would have played 22 matches.

After which the league champion would be decided with a Super 6 tourney at a yet to be decided venue.

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone'

Meanwhile, four teams from each group will relegate at the end of this league season (eight teams all together) and four new ones expected to join them for the next season.

The league did not produce a champion last season due to the premature conclusion of the tournament after 24 matches.

But the club owners and other stakeholders voted to allow the table toppers Lobi Stars represent the country at the continental level after just 24 round of matches.

READ ALSO: upgrades to

While Enugu Rangers, the winners of the country' FA Cup tourney, campaign in the Confederation Cup.

Remo Stars, Kada Stars, Gombe United and Bendel Insurance are the teams that progressed into the NPFL after the conclusion of Super 8 tourney in Aba.

Other teams campaigning in the NPFL this season are Lobi Stars, Plateau United, MFM, Kano Pillars, Heartland FC, Niger Tornadoes, Kwara United, Nasarawa United, Sunshine stars and Rangers international.

Katsina United, Akwa United, Rivers United, Wikki Tourists, El Kanemi Warriors, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, Yobe Dessert Stars, Go Round FC, Abia Warriors and Enyimba international.

Meanwhile, normalcy will return to Nigerian topflight as 20 teams are expected to participate in the league next campaign. ( -> We have updated to serve you better.

Rio Ferdinand admires Okocha, reveals why he quit boxing and problem with Man United | Legit TV


Mailfire view pixel