What you need to know about the 2018 CAF Awards

What you need to know about the 2018 CAF Awards

The 2018 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Awards will take center stage on Tuesday, January 8, in Dakar, Senegal.

Men and Women who have done their respective nations and club sides proud have been nominated into different categories.

Coaches of different teams are not left out of getting their rewards as well as young and promising players of the round leather game.

READ ALSO: Sarri says Ampadu will replace Cahill if he leaves Stamford Bridge

The categories of the awards will be:

  • Youth Player of the Year
  • Men’s Coach of the Year
  • Women’s Coach of the Year
  • Women’s National Team of the Year
  • Women's Player of the Year
  • African Player of the Year

From the list, only four categories have Nigeria's representatives in contention which includes Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega for women's best player, Wilfred Ndidi for youth player, Super Falcons for best female team and Thomas Dennerby for female coach of the year.

However the highlight of the award ceremony will be the African Footballer of the Year category which will be closely contested between Egypt's Mohamed Salah, Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Senegal's Sadio Mane.

PAY ATTENTION: NAIJ.com upgrades to Legit.ng

Below is a comprehensive list of the categories and nominees

Youth Player of the Year: Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd), Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan), Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Herve Renard (Morocco), Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Women’s Coach of the Year: Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon), Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone'

Men’s National Team of the Year: Madagascar, Mauritania, Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year: Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa

Women's Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian), Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

African Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng We have updated to serve you better.

Rio Ferdinand admires Okocha, reveals why he quit boxing and problem with Man United | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel