Flood: NEMA names Kebbi, Bayelsa, 3 others as national disasters

Flood: NEMA names Kebbi, Bayelsa, 3 others as national disasters

- The National Emergency Management (NEMA) names five new states as national disasters

- NEMA says the figure of states so far placed in the category have increased to nine

- Mustapha Yunusa Maihaj commends stakeholders and international partners for their commitments and contributions

The National Emergency Management (NEMA), on Thursday, October 11, declared five more states: Adamawa, Taraba, Kebbi, Bayelsa and Rivers as ‘national disaster’ following the recent flooding that has ravaged the states.

Sani Datti, head of media and public relations, NEMA made this known in a statement on Thursday in Abuja.

According to Datti, Mustapha Maihaja, director general, NEMA made the declaration following the ongoing efforts of the agency to tackle and assist flood victims across the country.

READ ALSO: Breaking: Kwankwaso reportedly threatens to leave PDP

He said that the declaration of the five new states now puts the numbers of flood affected states under flood emergencies to nine.

It would be recalled that on September 17, a national disaster was declared in Kogi, Niger, Delta, Anambra states.

“In consideration of the data and information being received, in particular the Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) and guided by relevant NEMA policy documents, additional five states are observed to have been impacted severely by the disaster.

“On the consultation, subsequent endorsement of all the stakeholders here present, and the delegation of authority conferred on me by the president and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“Mustapha Yunusa Maihaj, the director general, NEMA hereby declared national disaster in the five (5) states of Adamawa, Bayelsa, Kebbi, Rivers and Taraba,” he said.

Maihaja commended the efforts and commitments of all stakeholders and the international partners for their contribution so far to the success of the operation.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

He explained that the addition of the five states recently declared expands the scope and the need for response and call for more support accordingly.

Legit.ng earlier reported that the National Emergency Management Agency and the National Hydrological Services Agencies (NHISA) warned that 12 states across Nigeria would soon experience flooding due to torrential rain falls.

The two agencies gave the warning on Friday, September 7, during an emergency stakeholders’ meeting held with relevant stakeholders in Abuja.

Nigeria Latest News: Buhari vs Atiku - 2019 Elections | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel