Crisis in APGA as guber aspirants in Imo kick against NWC

Crisis in APGA as guber aspirants in Imo kick against NWC

- APGA governorship aspirants in Imo state protested against the party's National Working Committee

- The aggrieved members accused the leadership of the party of being weak

Governorship aspirants of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) have protested against the party for reportedly organising primary election where only two aspirants participated out of the 15 screened for the election.

The aspirants threatened to start a factional party if the National Working Committee could not resolve the issue within 24 hours.

READ ALSO: I am not a stingy governor - Obaseki

According to an aspirant, Sam Amadi, who spoke to The Sun, the gubernatorial aspirants vying under APGA have resorted to taking a stand that would help the party out of its present crisis.

Amadi said the aspirants had already lost confidence in the State Working Committee (SWC) of the party and decided to come together to address the problem without recourse to the SWC.

He said: “The SWC is weak, they rely on what the national said, so we have decided to take our own fate in our own hands, ultimatum given to the NWC will expire this high, so we are meeting today, all the aspirants vying for any position."

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app earlier reported that unsatisfied with the conduct of the rather controversial primary in the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) in Imo, the former governor of the state, Ikedi Ohakim, who was an aspirant in the party, might defect to the Accord Party (AP).

Ohakim, speaking through his media director, Collins Ughala, said that he was angered by the election in which Araraume was said to have been the winner.

Meanwhile, following the reported declaration of Ararume as the APGA gubernatorial candidate in Imo, over 13 governorship aspirants of the party were said to have started defecting to other political parties. gathered that Ikedi Ohakim, Frank Nneji, Bright Nwanne, Steve Nwoga, Sam Amadi and Okey Eze were displeased with Ararume's declaration.

Election 2019: How Did Okorocha React To Abukabar’s PDP Statement? | TV


Mailfire view pixel