Breaking: Saraki swears in 2 new senators

Breaking: Saraki swears in 2 new senators

Senate President Bukola Saraki on Wednesday, October 10, swore in Senator Lawal Gumuau from Bauchi South senatorial district and Senator Ahmad Baba Kaita from Katsina North senatorial district.

The two senators were sworn in a day after the National Assembly was reopened after a long break.

Recall that Yahaya Gumua, the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) won the Bauchi South senatorial election held on Saturday, August 11.

READ ALSO: Breaking: After over 2 months break NASS resumes

The results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) shows the APC won in six of the seven local governments in the senatorial district where election was conducted.

Also, INEC in Katsina state declared Alhaji Ahmed Babba-Kaita of the APC winner of the bye-election conducted in the Katsina North Senatorial District.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Prof Hudu Ayuba-Abdullahi the returning officer who announced the result at 4:42 am in Daura said Kaita, a member of the House of Representatives scored 224,607 votes, while his elder brother and a retired customs officer, Alhaji Kabir Babba Kaita of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 59,724 votes.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that Senator Biodun Olujimi representing Ekiti south senatorial constituency on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has taken over the seat of the minority leader in the Senate, formally occupied by Godswill Akpabio.

Akpabio resigned as the minority leader after defecting to the All Progressives Congress from the PDP..

Nigeria Latest News: Is the NASS Leadership Still Capable of Leading Nigeria? | TV


Mailfire view pixel