Ex-Mend leader defects from APC to PDP with 10,000 loyalists

Ex-Mend leader defects from APC to PDP with 10,000 loyalists

- The APC in Delta has recorded a huge loss as Freedom Adowei defectes from the party to the PDP

- Adowei is the former leader of the Movement for the Emancipation of Niger the Delta

- About 10,000 of his loyalists are said to have also left the ruling party for the opposition party

A former leader of the Movement for the Emancipation of Niger the Delta, Freedom Adowei, has defected from the All Progressives Congress to the Peoples Democratic Party, with about 10,000 of his loyalists in the state.

Vanguard reports that Adowei said his decision to decamp from the APC was based on the tremendous impact of the administration of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa in several riverine communities of the state.

He maintained that the member representing Burutu federal constituency in the House of Representatives, Julius Pondi, was also giving the area effective representation.

READ ALSO: Negotiations break down as FG reportedly offers N25,000 as new minimum wage

According to him, “Under Okowa, riverine communities across the state have been receiving government attention more than ever, with some transforming into visible living communities.

“If you go round you will see how the governor is being commended for the construction of roads in riverine communities such as the Okerenkoko Road in Gbaramatu Kingdom, Warri South-West, Sokebolou/Obotobo Road in Ogulagha Kingdom, Burutu Township concrete road pavement and others, all within Burutu local government area of the state, as well as other parts of the riverine Delta.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

“I will be delivering 20,000 Ijaw votes to the PDP in the elections next year. I moved with my followers and I have their mandate to come and contribute my part to the success and victory of PDP in Delta state. ”

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had reported that former commissioners and many APC chieftain as well as their supporters on Thursday, February 15, defected to the PDP in Bayelsa state.

The Nation reports that among them are PDP ex-state chairman Tarila Tebepah; ex-chairman of the civil service commission Monday Karibo; and ex-leader of the House of Assembly Stephen Erebo.

Others are ex-commissioner Geseye Isowo; ex-Assembly members Johnson Alalibo, Victor Awala, andA yiba Duba, among others.

Age requirement reduction by the Senate; Good or Bad for Nigeria? - on Legit.ng TV:

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel