2019: List of presidential candidates contesting against President Buhari

2019: List of presidential candidates contesting against President Buhari

The stage is getting set for the 2019 general elections; it’s about 129 days to the polls and 91 political parties have officially registered with the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Following the October 7 deadline given to the political parties by INEC to produce their candidates, nearly all the interested parties interested in contesting the presidential election have produced their candidates.

With the general elections barely four months away, it is important that Nigerians get to know the candidates being fielded by the parties and make informed decisions on who will win their votes to become the nation's president or return for another four years.

Legit.ng in this piece provides a list of all the candidates contesting the 2019 presidential election as of Tuesday, October 9, 2018.

1. President Muhammadu Buhari - All Progressives Congress (APC)

2. Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar - Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

3. Donald Duke - Social Democratic Party (SDP)

READ ALSO: Again, Buhari Campaign Organisation comes for Atiku, reveals how he made his money

4. Kingsley Moghalu - Young Progressive Party (YPP)

5. Obiageli Ezekwesili - Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN)

6. Fela Durotoye - Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN)

7. Omoyele Sowore - African Action Congress (AAC)

8. Tope Fasua - Abundance Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP)

9. Eunice Atuejide - National Interest Party (NIP)

10. Olusegun Mimiko - Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)

11. Adesina Fagbenro-Byron - Kowa Party (KP)

12. Chike Ukaegbu - Advanced Allied Party (AAP)

13. Hamza Al-Mustapha - People's Party of Nigeria (PPN)

14. Alistair Soyode - Yes Electorates Solidarity (YES)

15. Obadiah Mailafia - African Democratic Congress (ADC)

16. Ahmed Buhari - Sustainable National Party (SNP)

17. Usman Ibrahim Alhaji - National Rescue Movement (NRM)

18. Eniola Ojajuni - Alliance for Democracy (AD)

19. Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim - Alliance for People's Trust

20. John Ogbor - All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

21. Edozie Madu - Independent Democrats (ID)

22. Williams Awosola - Democratic People’s Congress (DPC)

23. Habu Aminchi - Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM)

24. Yabagi Sani - Action Democratic Party (ADP)

25. Moses Shipi - All Blending Party (ABP)

26. Peter Nwangwu - We the People of Nigeria (WTPN)

27. Dr Rabia Cengiz - The National Action Council (NAC)

28. Isaac Ositelu - Accord Party

29. Davidson Akhimien - Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria (GDPN)

30. Alhaji Yahaya Ndu - African Renaissance Party (ARP)

31. Sunday Chukwu-Eguzolugo of Justice Must Prevail Party (JMPP)

32. Hamisu Santuraki - Mega Party of Nigeria (MPN)

33. Fidelis Akhahomen - Young Democratic Party (YDP)

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, 39 political parties under the aegis of the Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP) has announced their readiness to adopt the winner of the PDP presidential primary, Atiku Abubakar, as their candidate in the 2019 general elections.

Daily Trust reports that the parties under the umbrella of CUPP, led by the PDP, said they would adopt him as consensus candidate for the election in order to dislodge President Muhammad Buhari in 2019.

The CUPP, in a statement issued late on Sunday, October 7, by its spokesman, Ikenga Ugochinyere, said the process of his adoption would start this week.

Atiku's congratulatory speech after being declared PDP presidential flag bearer | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel