Lagos APC senatorial primary: Senator Ashafa concedes defeat to Osinowo

Lagos APC senatorial primary: Senator Ashafa concedes defeat to Osinowo

- Senator Gbenga Ashafa representing Lagos East senatorial district has conceded defeat after failing to secure a return ticket

- Senator Ashafa lost the APC senatorial primary election for his district to Bayo Osinowo

- Osinowo polled 247,743, while Senator Ashafa polled 20,385 in the primary

Following the All Progressives Congress (APC) senatorial primary in Lagos East senatorial district, the lawmaker representing the district, Senator Gbenga Ashafa, has conceded defeat to his rival, Bayo Osinowo.

Osinowo defeated Senator Ashafa by polling 247,743 votes to emerge as candidate for the Lagos East senatorial district. Ashafa, polled 20,385 in the primary.

Vanguard reports that Senator Ashafa said in a statement that the decision to concede defeat was based on the need for unity and progress of the party. gathers the lawmaker said the time has come for him to sacrifice his ambition for the unity and continuity of the APC at the senatorial level and across all elective offices.

READ ALSO: Lagos APC primaries: 84 persons land in police net for alleged violence

He said: “Over the past seven and a half years, I have enjoyed the mandate and support of both the leadership and the members of our party to serve as the senator representing Lagos East senatorial district. This is a mandate that I have held with the utmost responsibility which such high office entails.

“In the light of the foregoing, and upon due consultation with party leaders and relevant stakeholders, I believe that the time has come for me to sacrifice my ambition for the unity and continuity of our party at the senatorial level and across all elective offices.

“Hence, I hereby, release my unopposed ticket to the leadership of the party in Lagos state. To this end, I would like to appreciate the leadership of our party at the state and national levels, our members and constituents alike for the opportunity afforded me to serve. This is an opportunity that I do not take lightly or for granted. I would also like to appreciate the magnanimity and generosity of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu towards me throughout this journey.

“I remain committed to the principles and ideals of our party and will continue to contribute my quota in service to both our party and the nation. I stand with APC."

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, previously reported that the ruling electoral committee of the national and state House of Assemblies primaries for Lagos state on the platform of the All Progressives Congress on Saturday, October 6, officially released the results of the elections.

Announcing the results in Ikeja, chairman of the committee, Lucky Imasuen, said the primaries were contested for the three senatorial seats, 24 House of Representatives and 40 state House of Assembly seats.

Why President Buhari May Not Defeat PDP In 2019- Agbor Residents Speak| on TV


Mailfire view pixel