Governor Amosun wins APC senatorial ticket

Governor Amosun wins APC senatorial ticket

- Ogun state governor, Ibikunle Amosun, has won APC senatorial ticket ahead of 2019

- Amosun would be representing Ogun Central at the Senate during the 9th Assembly

- The chairman of the monitoring committee for the primary, Colonel Abubakar Chiroma, announced that Amosun polled 56,101 votes to defeat his opponents

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state has been declared as the winner of Ogun Central senatorial district primaries of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Channels TV reports that this was announced after the governor polled 56,101 votes. gathered that the result was announced on Sunday, October 7, by the chairman of the monitoring committee, Colonel Abubakar Chiroma retired.

READ ALSO: Confusion as parallel NASS candidates emerge in Ondo APC

The party members also on Sunday, October 7, elected its standard bearers for the federal House of Assembly and state House of Assembly seats.

Lekan Mustapha with 52,370 votes won the senatorial ticket for Ogun West while the chief of staff to the governor, Tolulope Odebiyi won the Ogun East senatorial district with 48,134 votes.

The state commissioner for information, Dayo Adeneye, won the party’s ticket for the Odogbolu state constituency in the House of Assembly with 5,803 votes.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

Meanwhile, had previously reported that the All Progressives Congress (APC) National Working Committee (NWC) announced Dapo Abiodun as winner of the ruling party’s Ogun state governorship primaries.

This is coming hours after Adams Oshiomhole met with the Ogun state governor, and some of his fellow governors, gave a verdict against Ibikunle Amosun’s interest.

The Ogun state chapter of the APC led by Amosun, had adopted federal lawmaker, Adekunle Akinlabi, as its ‘consensus’ governorship candidate despite the protest of several aspirants.

Election-2019: (Don't) mark your calendar - on TV


Mailfire view pixel