Confusion as parallel NASS candidates emerge in Ondo APC

Confusion as parallel NASS candidates emerge in Ondo APC

- The crisis rocking the ruling APC in Ondo state is yet to abate

- NASS candidates emerged in the state from two factions at the weekend

- The NWC of the party had given automatic ticket to the members of NASS in the state but the party in the state said it conducted a fresh primary

The crisis rocking the Ondo chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has taken another twist as parallel National Assembly candidates emerged in the party at the weekend.

Vanguard reports that this came as a group within the APC in the state called for the dissolution of the state executive committee for insubordination to the party’s national leadership of the party and anti-party activities. gathered that despite the return tickets given to the serving senators by APC’s National Working Committee (NWC), the party in the state said it conducted a fresh primary where new candidates emerged.

READ ALSO: Breaking: DSS arrests Senator Marafa over Zamfara APC crisis

The NWC had given automatic tickets to Senators Ajayi Boroffice, Yele Omogunwa and Tayo Alasoadura to represent the north, south and central senatorial districts of the state.

Also, House of Representatives candidates, who emerged from the Boroffice faction include Afe Olowookere, Bamidele Baderinwa, Kolawole Babatunde, Gani Muhammed and some House of Assembly members.

In a statement, Senator Boroffice’s loyalists claimed he won the party ticket with 64,300 votes from the 72 wards in the senatorial district being the sole contestant in the election.

It said that officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) monitored the primary election in Ondo north senatorial district, adding that the result sheet was signed by the chairman of APC primary election committee in Ondo state, Abuh Andrew.

But the state chapter of the party, in another statement, said that after a primary was conducted; Lucky Ayedatiwa, Tayo Alasoadura and Dr Tunji Abayomi emerged to represent the south, central and north senatorial district of the state.

According to the party, Senator Alasoadura, who was unopposed, polled 57,200 while Dr Abayomi polled 30,000 votes and his closest rival, Senator Boroffice scored 10,000, Hon. Victor Olabimtan polled 4,000 votes, Gbenga Elegbeleye scored 2,400 while Jide Ipinsagba scored 2000 votes.

However, despite being schemed out of the senatorial primary, Olabimtan has promised not to dump the party. In a statement, Olabimtan said the primary has “come and gone but the ripple effects of the games, intrigues and highhandedness of the various actors linger.”

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

The former speaker said: “As tribulation mounted, I soon realized that there were two ways in which I could respond to the situation; either to react with bitterness or seek to transform the tribulation into a positive force.

“The last 72 hours has been tense for me and my supporters, especially on the way forward. As a committed party man, my words are my bonds. I gave my words during the campaign that no matter the outcome of the exercise, I will stay and work for the success of the party.”

Meanwhile, had previously reported that Senator Ajayi Boroffice, representing Ondo north senatorial district on Thursday won the ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the candidate of the party for the 2019 general election.

It was reported that officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC), monitored the primary election in Ondo North senatorial district.

Boroffice, who was the sole aspirant for the primary, got 64,300 votes out of the 66,200 votes accredited for the exercise from the 72 wards in the senatorial district.

Election-2019: (Don't) mark your calendar - on TV


Mailfire view pixel