2019: Third force political parties unite, come up with plan to defeat Buhari

2019: Third force political parties unite, come up with plan to defeat Buhari

- Political parties under the third force have devised a new set of strategies to defeat President Muhammadu Buhari in 2019

- As part of their plan, the parties, PT, ADC, and ANN, jointly formed a new umbrella name, Alliance for Peoples Trust (APT)

- The group also elected one legal bigwig, Olisa Agbakoba (SAN), as its national chairman

Top political parties on the platform of the third force movement such as Peoples Trust (PT), African Democratic Congress (ADC) and Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN) have jointly formed a formidle pact to contest and possibly take power from President Muhammadu Buhari, Punch reports.

READ ALSO: We'll impeach Saraki when NASS reopens - Senate leader vows

With the new arrangement, the political parties involved have adopted the Alliance for Peoples Trust as their new name. The resolve was taken at a national convention set up by the group in Lagos on Saturday, October 6.

In a statement which contained the agreement, the national secretary of the APT, Mallam Nasser Kura, said that Lady Funke Awolowo stepped down for Olawepo-Hashim, a presidential aspirant.

Moreover, a high profile lawyer, who is also a pro-democracy activist, Olisa Agbakoba (SAN), was elected as the national chairman and an energy expert and political strategist, Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim as a presidential candidate.

Describing himself as a detribalised Nigerian, Olawepo-Hashim said that he was prepared to lead the new ballot driven– Permanent Voter Cards (PVC) revolution of the third force movement in an effort to create a new democratic Nigeria in 2019.

Added to the new arrangement, the party’s logo was changed from a pyramid to a hand of victory sign in green, white and yellow flag. APT flag was handed over to Olawepo-Hashim to represent the third force in the 2019 polls.

The APT's national convention was attended by leaders of other allied political parties and movement, namely Jay Samuels, founding chairman of ANN; Mallam Nasser Kura, National Secretary of APT; Comrade Isa Tijani, deputy national chairman of ANN; Lady Funke Awolowo, who was later elected the treasurer of APT, and Olawale Okunniyi, the director general of Nigeria Intervention Movement (NIM).

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Others include Olivia Agbajoh, a second republic federal legislator and senatorial candidate of APT in Delta state and Musibahu Jarfaru from Kano among others.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that ahead of the 2019 presidential election, a new political force, a mega party known as Peoples Trust (PT), had emerged.

According to leadership, the party is led by a former president of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Olisa Agbakoba (SAN).

Legit.ng gathers that former president Olusegun Obasanjo’s Third Force and other political groups and individuals are also joining forces with Agbakoba, to form the mega party.

The Next President of Nigeria. Who Will Win the 2019 Elections? | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel