Breaking: Atiku wins PDP primary election

Breaking: Atiku wins PDP primary election

Former vice president, Atiku Abubakar has won the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) primary election to emerge as its presidential candidate for the 2019 presidential election.

In the election conducted on Saturday, October 6 at the party’s convention which took place in Port Harcourt, the former vice president defeated 11 other political bigwigs in the party.

READ ALSO: Change has come - Read Buhari’s full speech after accepting nomination as APC presidential candidate

He is expected to provide stiff competition to President Muhammadu Buhari who emerged as the All Progressives Congress presidential candidate.

Governor Dave Umahi read out the votes of 9 aspirants before Governor Ifeanyi Okowa read out the rest of the results.

Senator Bukola Saraki came third with 317 votes while Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto polled 693 votes.

Below is the breakdown of the result and number of votes scored by each candidate in the PDP primary election:

Jonah Jang: 19

Datti Baba-Ahmed: 05

David Mark: 35

Kabiru Tanimu Turaki: 65

Sule Lamido: 96

Attahiru Dalhatu Bafarawa: 48

Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo: 111

Ahmed Makarf: 74

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso: 158

Bukola Saraki: 317

Aminu Tambuwal: 693

Atiku Abubakar: 1532

Void votes: 68

You can read's comprehensive live update of the voting here

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari has thanked members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) particularly its chieftains after emerging as candidate of the party to represent it in the 2019 presidential elections.

In a statement by Femi Adesina on Sunday, October 7, the president highlighted some of the achievements of his administration.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

He noted that things were going downhill when the Peoples Democratic Party was in power but expressed delight that his administration was able to turn things around. had reported that President Muhammadu Buhari accepted nomination to contest for a second term in the 2010 presidential election. The over 7000 delegates had converged in Abuja to ratified the results of the presidential primaries held across the country.

President polled a total vote of of 14, 842,072 votes to emerged the winner of the presidential primaries. had earlier reported that security is tight in and around the Eagle Square, Abuja, venue of the national convention of the All Progressives Congress (APC) where delegates are expected to ratify Muhammadu Buhari's return ticket

Election 2019: President Buhari Proves He is Fit to Run in 2019 | TV


Online view pixel