Just In: Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

Just In: Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

- The winners of the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize have been announced

- Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad bagged the coveted award

- There were 331 candidates shorlisted for the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018

The 2018 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.

Mukwege, a gynaecologist, has long worked to treat thousands of women and girls affected by rape and sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Murad is a Yazidi woman from the northern Iraqi town of Sinjar, who was once held as a sex slave by ISIS.

In 2016, at age 23, she was made a UN goodwill ambassador for the dignity of survivors of human trafficking.

Just In: Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad have been announced as winners of the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize. Credit: Nobel

READ ALSO: Breaking: APC releases names of 24 approved governorship candidates

"Both laureates have made a crucial contribution to focusing attention on, and combating, such war crimes," said Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, as she announced the award Friday, October 5, at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo.

"Denis Mukwege is the helper who has devoted his life to defending these victims. Nadia Murad is the witness who tells of the abuses perpetrated against herself and others.

"Each of them in their own way has helped to give greater visibility to wartime sexual violence, so that the perpetrators can be held accountable for their actions."

Mukwege has earned the moniker "The man who mends women" for the work he and his colleagues at Panzi Hospital have done since he founded the clinic 20 years ago.

"Denis Mukwege is the foremost, most unifying symbol, both nationally and internationally, of the struggle to end sexual violence in war and armed conflicts. His basic principle is that 'justice is everyone's business,'" said Reiss-Anderson.

Just In: Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

Dr Denis Mukwege. Credit: oslofreedomforum.com

Legit.ng gathers that Murad is the 17th woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize and is its second-youngest recipient after Malala Yousafzai.

Reiss-Andersen said Murad had “shown uncommon courage in recounting her own sufferings and speaking up on behalf of other victims.”

Just In: Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad win 2018 Nobel Peace Prize

Nadia Murad. Credit: BBC.com

There were 331 candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018, reportedly the second-highest number ever. Of those, 216 were individuals and 115 were organisations, according to Nobel organisers. The names of the nominees cannot be revealed until 50 years have passed.

The recipient is chosen by a committee of five people elected by the Norwegian Parliament.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile, Legit.ng’s Editor-In-Chief, Bayo Olupohunda, has been shortlisted for West Africa Media Excellence Awards.

The frontline journalist was listed among the 18 finalists that will be honoured by The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) at its award scheduled to hold on October 13 in Ghana.

According to the organisers, the competition received over 600 entries from 12 countries across West Africa from both Francophone and Anglophone countries.

Legit.ng bags awards as most outstanding ICT-Media organisation in Nigeria - On Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel