APC NWC declares Dapo Abiodun as winner of Ogun governorship primaries

APC NWC declares Dapo Abiodun as winner of Ogun governorship primaries

- The National Working Committee of the APC has confirmed Dapo Abiodun, as the winner of the party's Ogun state governorship primary

- The party in a statement confirmed that Abiodun won the primary election after scoring 102,305 votes

- The announcement is coming after Adekunle Akinlade, was declared as the winner of the primary by Ogun APC

The All Progressives Congress (APC) National Working Committee (NWC) has announced Dapo Abiodun as winner of the ruling party’s Ogun state governorship primaries.

This is coming hours after Adams Oshiomhole met with the Ogun state governor, and some of his fellow governors, gave a verdict against Ibikunle Amosun’s interest.

The Ogun state chapter of the APC led by Amosun, had adopted federal lawmaker, Adekunle Akinlabi, as its ‘consensus’ governorship candidate despite the protest of several aspirants.

But when the APC NWC, led by Oshiomhole, dispatched a governorship primary committee to the state, they had a troubled relationship with the Ogun APC whose chairman, Derin Adebiyi, accused Oshiomhole of plotting to impose a candidate.

READ ALSO: 2019 elections: Southern, middle belt leaders express fear

The two parties (Ogun APC and NWC primary committee) refused to work together eventually resulting to the conduct of two parallel governorship primaries in Ogun state.

The state chapter loyal to Amosun declared Akinlabi winner of its governorship primary, while the Muhammed Ndabawa-led electoral committee declared another aspirant, Dapo Abiodun, winner of the governorship primary it conducted. However both primaries were conducted same day, Wednesday, October 3.

Amosun on Thursday, October 4, joined about seven other APC governors in Abuja to protest the conduct of primaries in their states. The problems each of the governors had with the primaries largely differed from the other.

For example, while the Kaduna state governor’s problem was the automatic ticket granted to senator, Shehu Sani, by the NWC while Amosun’s problem was mainly with the controversial governorship primaries.

The aggrieved governors met with both Oshiomhole and earlier with President Muhammadu Buhari.

However, the APC NWC on Thursday night, released a series of statements one of which declared support for the Ogun governorship primary conducted by its committee. The NWC affirmed Dapo Abiodun as the winner of its governorship primaries.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

The party in a statement by Yekini Nabena publicity secretary, said Abiodun won with 102,305 votes while his opponents Jimi Lawal scored 51,153, Kunle Akinlade 23, 443, Bimbo Ashiru 29, 764, Adegbenga Kaka 17, 771 and Abayomi Koroto 9, 610.

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) announces Mr. Dapo Abiodun as winner of the Party’s Ogun State governorship primaries. Abiodun won the primary election after scoring 102,305 votes,” Nabena said.

In a previous report by Legit.ng, the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has released the list of 24 cleared candidates for the 2019 governorship elections.

National publicity secretary of the party, Yekini Nabena who released the list in a statement said it was a result of the meeting of the National Working Committee (NWC) held on Thursday, October 4.

“Following the governorship primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) held across the country, the Party’s National Working Committee (NWC) at its meeting held on Thursday, 4th October, 2018 ratified the reports of the various Electoral Committees and adopts the under-listed as governorship candidates of the APC for the forthcoming 2019 general elections,” Nabena said.

Osun Election 2018: I will surely win this election - Senator Adeleke | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel