Shekarau, others win APC senatorial primaries

Shekarau, others win APC senatorial primaries

- Malam Ibrahim Shekarau has won the APC ticket Kano for central senatorial district

- Shekarau, former Kano state governor, secured 973,435 in the party's primary election

- The former governor recently defected from the Peoples Democratic Party to the APC

The APC has announced the results of the senatorial primary election for Kano state, as the former governor of the state, Ibrahim Shekarau, and two incumbent senators, Kabiru Gaya and Barau Jibrin, won the party's tickets.

Daily Trust reports Shekarau picked the ticket for Kano central senatorial district in the election scored 973,435, Gaya got 1,05057 votes and Jibril emerged unopposed.

This was stated by the presiding officer of the primaries Garba Saleh while announcing the results after the election.

READ ALSO: APC expels Omo-Agege, asks police, DSS to arrest him

Shekarau who recently defected from the Peoples Democratic Party to APC said his decision was due to the injustice meted on him and his supporters by the PDP leadership.

The former education minister defeated Sulaiman Halili and Hajiya Laila Buhari who got 104 and 206 votes respectively.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Gaya in his part defeated Abdulrahman Sulaiman Kawu Sumaila and Alhaji Yahaya Isa Zarewa who secured 309,209 and 15,643 votes respectively.

Meanwhile, had reported that Senate Leader Ahmad Lawan clinched the APC ticket to contest the Yobe north senatorial election.

Alhaji Umar Kareto, the returning officer of the election, said a total of 1,865 delegates were accredited out of which the senate leader polled 1,702 votes and 12 invalid.

Lawan, who emerged unopposed, appreciated the people for investing their trust in him to represent the zone in the senate.

News Nigeria Today: Who is Nigeria’s Smartest Politician? | TV:


Mailfire view pixel