Drama as Amosun shuns APC NWC, insists preferred candidate is winner of governorship ticket

Drama as Amosun shuns APC NWC, insists preferred candidate is winner of governorship ticket

- Governor Amosun has disagreed with APC NWC choice of candidate for 2019 Ogun governorship election

- The governor announced his preferred candidate, Adekunle Akinlade, as winner after NWC announced Dapo Abiodun as winner

There is crisis looming in the Ogun state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the party's National Working Committee (NWC) and Governor Ibikunle Amosun announced different candidates as winner of the state governorship primaries.

Governor Ibikunle Amosun on Thursday, October 4, announced Adekunle Akinlade as the winner of the APC governorship primary in Ogun state, thereby, ignoring the NWC's earlier announcement declaring Dapo Abiodun as the winner.

READ ALSO: Breaking: 19 feared killed in fresh Plateau attack

Amosun took to his official Facebook page to share a press released signed by the state publicity secretary of Ogun state chapter of APC, Wole Elegbede, announcing Akinlade's victory in the primaries.

In the press statement of the party, the chairman of APC in the state, Chief Derin Adebiyi, said Akinlade polled the highest number of valid votes in the primaries.

The result of the primaries showed that Akinlade scored 190,987 votes, leaving Jimi Lawal in a distant second position with 5,046 votes. Dapo Abiodun garnered 3,648 votes. He was trailed by Abimbola Ashiru with 898 votes, Adegbenga Kaka with 833 votes and Abayomi with 208 votes according to the release.

The National Working Committee of the party had on late Wednesday evening announced Dapo Abiodun as the winner of the direct governorship primary held by the party in Ogun state.

The chairman of the NWC electoral committee, Muhammed Ndabawa, said Abiodun, an oil magnate, polled 102,305 votes to emerge winner.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Ndabawa also listed the other aspirants and their scores: Jimi Lawal, 51, 153 votes; Abimbola Ashiru, 29,764 votes; Gbenga Kaka, 17,771; Abayomi Hunye, 9,110 and Adekunle Akinlade, 23, 443 votes.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng earlier reported that the Ogun state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) declared Abdul-Kabir Adekunle Akinlade as the winner of its gubernatorial primary election held in the state on Tuesday, October 2.

The result was announced on Wednesday afternoon, October 3, at a press conference addressed by the state chairman, Chief Derin Adebiyi at the party’s state secretariat located along the Abiola way in Abeokuta, Ogun state.

Lagos Governor: Is Sanwo-Olu a Better Candidate Than Ambode?| - on Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel