Senator Laah secures Kaduna south PDP ticket

Senator Laah secures Kaduna south PDP ticket

- Danjuma Laah has started making moves for his re-election as a senator

- Laah is currently representing Kaduna south senatorial constituency

- He wants to be the first senator that will represent the zone for eight years

Senator Danjuma Laah on Wednesday, October 3, picked the PDP ticket to seek re-election to represent his Kaduna south senatorial constituency.

News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Laah, the only PDP senator in the north west geo-political zone, polled 592 votes to defeat his only challenger, Rep. Adams Jagaba, who got 353 votes in the election that had nine invalid votes.

Announcing the result of the election in Kafanchan, the returning officer, Alhaji Balarabe Sani Garba, said that a total of 972 delegates were accredited for the election that started in the midnight.

READ ALSO: Osinbajo mocks Adeleke, Melaye at gala night

He thanked the delegates for being orderly throughout the exercise, and also lauded the patience of the aspirants.

If elected in the general elections in February next year, Laah would be the first senator to be returned in the senatorial zone that had always presented a fresh face after every four years.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

The zone, which elected Group Capt. Haruna Aziz (rtd), in 1999, brought Isaiah Balat in 2003, and replaced him with Caleb Zagi in 2007. Senator Zagi was displaced by Senator Nenadi Usman in 2011, who also gave way to Laah in 2015.

Meanwhile, had reported that Kaduna state House of Assembly elected Nuhu Shadalafiya as new deputy speaker following the defection of the former deputy speaker to PDP.

John Audu's seat had earlier been declared vacant by the Kaduna state members of the Assembly on Wednesday, August 15. The former deputy speaker represents Kachia constituency at the Assembly.

The speaker of the Assembly, Aminu Shagali, declared the seat vacant and Shadalafiya, the former committee chairman on information and member representing Kagarko constituency was subsequently elected as the new deputy speaker.

Nigeria Latest News: Here's What Saraki and Tambuwal's Defection Means for the APC | TV:


Mailfire view pixel