2019: PDP's first-term governors win tickets to recontest

2019: PDP's first-term governors win tickets to recontest

- First term PDP governors seeking to return to office in 2019 have won the party's ticket

- Most of the governors contested unopposed in the primaries conducted across Nigeria

- The party's primary was conducted on Sunday, September 30

First term governors of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Enugu, Akwa Ibom, Abia, Rivers, Delta and Cross River states have all emerged victorious in the party primaries held on Sunday, September 30.

Rivers state governor, Nyesom Wike, was the only aspirant of his party and the only candidate on the ballot paper. The primary election in Rivers was also witnessed by the party's national chairman, Uche Secondus, Vanguard reports.

READ ALSO: Ex-EFCC boss Ribadu pulls out of Adamawa APC governorship primaries

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi also emerged unopposed in Enugu state while Governor Ifeanyi Okowa emerged as the governorship candidate through a process of affirmation at the primary election held at the Cenotaph, Asaba.

Governor David Umahi, emerged the candidate of the PDP for Ebonyi state following a primary election in which he was the only aspirant.

Governor Okezie Ikpeazu emerged as candidate of the party at the primary after delegates from the 17 council areas of the state renewed their mandate with a total of 1, 991 votes, while Governor Darius Ishaku, who was unopposed, emerged the candidate of the PDP at the Taraba state.

Umar Muhammad Nasko, former Chief of staff to Governor Babangida Aliyu emerged the PDP candidate at the Niger state primary.

Benue state, all aspirants except John Tondu, a former commissioner in the Gabriel Suswam administration stepped down for Governor Samuel Ortom as at press time.

Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River emerged the governorship candidate of PDP for the 2019 elections through affirmation by delegates at the party’s primary election.

Ayade was announced as the candidate by the PDP panel Chairman, Olorogun Tebite, who conducted the primaries.

The situation was different in Oyo as two faction of the party conducted separate primaries in Ibadan, the state capital.

A similar issues as Oyo occured in Borno state where one of the factions with Usman Baderi as chairman conducted their primary at the new PDP secretariat along Circulur Road, Maiduguri with Mohammed Wakil, a former minister of Works (State) and Alhaji Bukar Kyari as the major aspirants. The other faction which has Alhaji Zanna Gadama as chairman held its own primary at the Old PDP secretariat around Leventis General Area of the metropolis.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, Legit.ng earlier reported that a total of 2447 All Progressives Congress (APC) delegates on Sunday, September 30, endorsed the candidature of Governor Nasiru El-Rufai to contest the 2019 governorship election in Kaduna state.

The Committee Chairman for the All Progressive Congress (APC) gubernatorial primary in the state, Mathew Iduoriyekemwen said while announcing the result in Kaduna that, 33 votes were declared invalid.

Can Ambode ‘Defeat’ Tinubu for a second term? - Nigerian Opinion | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel