Ekiti APC releases full list of consensus candidates for House of Assembly

Ekiti APC releases full list of consensus candidates for House of Assembly

- Ekiti APC has released the names of its consensus candidates for the state House of Assembly

- The list contains the names of four female and 22 male candidates

- According to a source in the party, commitment to principles and pedigree of the candidates played major roles in their adoption

In the run up to the 2019 general elections, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates for the 26 seats of the Ekiti state House of Assembly emerged on Tuesday, September 25, through consensus.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the list included four women and 22 men. The candidates are to be formally affirmed by party delegates at the House of Assembly primary scheduled for Tuesday, October 2.

READ ALSO: Osun rerun: Omisore meets Oshiomhole, APC governors, agrees to work for ruling party

NAN reports that the APC constitution allows for emergence of consensus candidates. A source within the party revealed that loyalty, commitment to party principles and pedigree of the candidates played major roles in their adoption.

The candidates include former majority leader, Funminiyi Afuye (Ikere 1) and current minority leader, Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1) who has been given the ticket to seek a re-election.

Aribisogan, recently defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the APC after falling out with Governor Ayodele Fayose.

The four women include former the special adviser to Fayemi on revenue matters, Bunmi Adelugba (Emure) and former special assistant to Wife of Governor, Yemisi Ayokunle (Ekiti southwest 1).

Others are former special assistant to Fayemi’s late Deputy Governor, Kemi Balogun (Ado 2) and former personal assistant to deputy governor, Princess Teju Okuyiga (Gbonyin).

However, the male candidates also included former senior special assistant to the Governor on Research and Documentation, Hakeem Jamiu (Irepodun/Ifelodun 2); and former Permanent Secretary, Government House and protocol, Akin Oso (Ido/Osi 2).

The list also have former chairman, Ekiti east local government, Lateef Akanle (Ekiti east 2) and former caretaker chairman, Ekiti west local government, Tajudeen Akingbolu (Ekiti west 1).

Also on the list are Oluwatoyin Lucas (Ado 1), Babatunde Lawrence (Ikere 2), Reuben Awoyemi (Oye 1), Yemi Osuntuyi (Oye 2),Adeoye Aribasoye (Ikole 2), Abiodun Fawekun (Ido/Osi 1) and Adejuwa Adegbuyi (Ekiti east 2).

Others Johnson Adeoye (Ekiti West 2), Mr Olatunji (Ekiti southwest 2), Adeyemi Ajibade (Moba 1), Michael Arubu (Moba 2), Dele Ajayi (Ise/Orun), Tope Ogunleye (Ilejemeje), Ademola Ojo (Ijero) and Femi Akindele (Irepodun/Ifelodun 2).

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

However, the newly elected state publicity secretary of the APC, Ade Ajayi, did not deny or confirm the list.

He said the party was making arrangements toward ensuring a peaceful primary, but he would not be able to elaborate on the development now.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that the APC's National Working Committee (NWC) had approved both the direct and indirect mode of primaries for its governorship election scheduled for Saturday, September 29, in the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

This was contained in a statement issued by Yekini Nabena, the APC national publicity secretary, on Tuesday, September 25, in Abuja.

INEC Officer who tore election results confesses, says his Electoral Officer sent him | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel