Ogun APC adopts consensus candidates for House of Assembly seats ahead of 2019

Ogun APC adopts consensus candidates for House of Assembly seats ahead of 2019

- APC in Ogun state has adopted consensus candidate for its state House of Assembly

- The party adopted candidates for 23 out of the 26 seats in the state House of Assembly

The All Progressives Congress (APC), in Ogun has adopted its consensus candidates for the 2019 state House of Assembly election.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the exercise was conducted on Monday at the Presidential Lodge in Abeokuta, the state capital.

Candidates were adopted for 23 out of the 26 seats in a process in which aspirants from the various constituencies met separately to pick who they considered most suitable among them.

READ ALSO: 2019: I am contesting for Senate under APC - Ex-IGP who served with Jonathan

The constituencies for which candidates were adopted include Sagamu Constituency 1 (Kamar Sonowo); Sagamu constituency 2 (Ademola Adeyinka,); Ijebu North 1: (Adekanbi Adegoke); Ijebu North 2: (Oduniyi Adelaja); Ijebu East (Alhaji Akinlagun Agoro ); Ogun Waterside: (Foye Adeniyi); Ewekoro: ( Yusuf Amosun); Abeokuta North (Modupe Mujota); Yewa North 1: (Bayo Adeyemi); Yewa North 2 (Olowasogo Akinde); Ijebu North East: Deola Tayo); Ipokia-(Sikirat Ajibola)

Governor Ibikunle Amosun, who supervised the exercise said the open process was a demonstration of the transparent democratic ideals of the APC.

He said the arrangement, witnessed by elected party members and political appointees, “was peaceful and and accepted by all”.

The governor thanked the aspirants for their co-operation and urged the candidates to prepare for the election.

According to him, candidates for the three remaining seats as well as those of the National Assembly seats, will be adopted on Tuesday.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The candidates, in their speeches, commended the party and Amosun for the rancour free exercise.

The exercise, however, witnessed some protests as some members particularly from the Ogun East senatorial district expressed dissatisfaction over the process.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng earlier reported that the Ogun state House of Assembly on Tuesday, September 4, rejected the planned defection of two of its lawmakers from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The APC through the majority leader of the House, Yinka Mafe, urged the Assembly to discountenance the reasons given by lawmakers in a letter read before members of the House.

News Nigeria Today: Will Senators, Lawmakers’ Defection from APC Change Power in 2019? | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel