The new format of the UEFA Nations League explained in detail

The new format of the UEFA Nations League explained in detail

The inaugural UEFA Nations League commences on Thursday, September 6, and the new competition presents European countries with the chance of landing a spot at the Euro 2020.

The tournament will start in style as current World Cup winners France will face 2014 World champions Germany on the opening day.

READ ALSO: Paraguayan side, Sporting Club employ stray dog as assistant manager

According to Sky, four Euro 2020 spots will be up for grabs via play-offs in the tournament that will witness Europes finest square it out for ultimate glory.

The tournament resurfaced in a bid to revamp the level of international football and reduce irrelevant friendlies.

It is understood that plans have been underway since 2011, to introduce the tournament with UEFA only waiting for the perfect opportunity to roll it out.

UEFA Nations League explained in detail

Paul Pogba of France, Presnel Kimpembe controls the ball during training before the International Friendly football match between Germany and France at Allianz Arena.

Countries are divided into four leagues (A,B,C,D) in relation to their FIFA ranking as of the end of the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers.

The 55 teams will then be split into groups made of four or three teams.

Four teams from every league will be promoted while another four teams will be relegated.

The Final Four is slated for June 2019, with winners from the four groups from league A, coming up against each other.

UEFA Nations League explained in detail

Toni Kroos, Jerome Boateng, Matthias Ginter of Germany and Nils Petersen of Germany controls the ball during a team Germany training session at Bayern Muenchen Campus on September 5, 2018.

The teams will play one-game semi-final prior to the final with the winner being crowned UEFA Nations League Champion.

The Final Four tournament will only be held in odd years, so as to avoid any clash or conflict on the football calendar especially with regards to the World Cup and European Championships.

The newly promoted teams will then play at the new level in the next competition which starts in 2020.

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone'

On Friday, September 7, Italy tackle Poland and thereafter England will take on 2010 World Cup winners Spain Saturday, September 8, when Northern Ireland face Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Meanwhile, had earlier reported that many football fans most especially in Nigeria hardly follow the UEFA Europa League unless clubs like Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool fall into this championship.

The major rationale is that most of these teams are expected to campaign in the Champions League which is more prestigious than the Europa League.

Football Transfers That Shocked The World | TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel