Full list of 23 parties newly registered by INEC

Full list of 23 parties newly registered by INEC

On Tuesday, August 14, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) approved the registration of 23 new political parties ahead of the forthcoming 2019 general election.

The electoral body also said that 91 other political parties were expected to participate in the 2019 election.

Speaking on newly registered parties the national commissioner and member, voter education and publicity committee, Mohammed Haruna, said the commission received 144 applications from political associations seeking registration as political parties.

He however said that only the 23 parties met the requirements of INEC.

READ ALSO: Tension hits SSS as Buhari decides acting DG’s fate

Below is a list of the 23 approved parties:

1. Advanced Alliance Party

2. Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party,

3. African Action Congress

4. Alliance for a United Nigeria

5. Alliance of Social Democrats

6. Alliance National Party

7. Allied People’s Movement

8. Alternative Party of Nigeria.

9.Change Nigeria Party

10. Congress Of Patriots

11. Liberation Movement

12. Movement for Restoration and Defence of Democracy

13. Nigeria Community Movement Party

14. Nigeria For Democracy

15. Peoples Coalition Party

READ ALSO: Saraki will be lawfully and democratically impeached - Oshiomhole boasts

16. Reform and Advancement Party

17. Save Nigeria Congress

18. United Patriots.

19. United Peoples Congress

20. We The People Nigeria

21. Yes Electorates Solidarity

22. Youth Party

23. Zenith Labour Party

The commission further noted that this would be the last round of registration of parties until after the general elections on February 16, 2019.

"This suspension is in line with Section 78 (1) of the Electoral Act, which requires all applications for registration as a political party to be concluded latest six months to a general election," INEC said.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 new app

Meanwhile, Legit.ng previously reported that INEC had extended the voters' registration exercise by two weeks.

The electoral body also registered 23 new political parties on Tuesday, August 14. This brings the countries number of political parties to 91.

Top Nigeria Corruption Scandals: Joshua Dariye, Olisa Metuh and Sambo Dasuki | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel