BREAKING: APC defeats PDP again, wins Bauchi bye-election

BREAKING: APC defeats PDP again, wins Bauchi bye-election

The candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Yahaya Gumau has reportedly won the Bauchi South senatorial election held on Saturday, August 11.

Premium Times reports that the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) shows the APC won in six of the seven local governments in the senatorial district where election was conducted.

READ ALSO: INEC declares APC candidate winner of Kogi bye-election

The opposing Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) only won in Bogoro local government area, the council of the speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara. had reported earlier that APC took an early lead in the announcement of the Bauchi-South Senatorial Bye-election results by INEC on Sunday, August 12.

As at around 2pm on Sunday, the APC had won three of the four local governments already announced by INEC in the senatorial district which has seven local government areas.

Results announced showed that the APC candidate Yahaya Gumau was in a comfortable lead ahead of PDP’s Ladan Salihu.

The ruling party has a total of 53,133 votes in the four local governments while the PDP has 22,430 votes.

In a similar vein, also reported that INEC in Katsina state declared Alhaji Ahmed Babba-Kaita of the APC winner of the bye-election conducted in the Katsina North Senatorial District.

Prof Hudu Ayuba-Abdullahi the returning officer who announced the result at 4:42 am in Daura on Sunday said Kaita, a member of the House of Representatives scored 224,607 votes, while his elder brother and a retired customs officer, Alhaji Kabir Babba Kaita of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 59,724 votes

Abdullahi said the total number of registered voters was 864,046. The number of accredited voters was 308,500.

Let’s Talk About Salaries of Nigerian Senators - on TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel