INEC declares APC candidate winner of Kogi bye-election

INEC declares APC candidate winner of Kogi bye-election

- INEC has announced the results and winner of Saturday's Lokoja/Kogi bye-election

- APC candidate Haruna Isah was declared winner by returning officer Professor Ajayi

- Isah polled 26, 860 votes, over 12,000 votes more than closest rival PDP

The candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Haruna Isha has been declared the winner of Saturday, August 11’s bye-election for the Lokoja/Kogi Federal constituency, The Nation reports.

INEC's Returning Officer Prof. Rotimi Ajayi of the Federal University Lokoja announced the outcome of the exercise in the early hours of Sunday, August 12 at the local government INEC Headquarter in Lokoja.

READ ALSO: APC reportedly leads as INEC collates Bauchi senatorial bye-election votes

According to reports, Isah was declared winner, “haven satisfied the requirements of the Electoral Act” after polling APC 26,860 votes to closest rival Peoples Democratic Party (PDP's) 14,845 had reported earlier that the bye-election to fill the vacant seat in the Lokoja-Kogi federal constituency started on a peaceful note on Saturday but was later marred by violence, vote buying and intimidation in Lokoja.

Reports say the election was marred with cases of political thugs going from one polling unit to another to perpetrate fraud.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android and read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Although policemen and other security agents were seen at the police stations, they looked the other way, while thugs terrorised people.

Nigeria Latest News: Is the NASS Leadership Still Capable of Leading Nigeria? - on TV


Mailfire view pixel