Nigerian news All categories All tags
Breaking: 23 out 24 Kwara lawmakers leave APC for PDP

Breaking: 23 out 24 Kwara lawmakers leave APC for PDP

Twenty-three out of the 24 members of the Kwara state House of Assembly on Wednesday, August 1, defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Only the member representing Ojomu/Balogun constituency of Offa local government area, Saheed Popoola, remains in APC, The Punch reports. gathered that the speaker of the House, Dr Ali Ahmad said APC had been “fictionalised.”

READ ALSO: List of senators, reps and governors who have left APC for PDP, other parties

Ahmad said: “All the honorable members — except one — have finally changed party to the PDP.

“This is permitted by the Proviso to Section 109 (1) (g) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“Today, as I and other members of the Kwara state Assembly dump the APC for good, I heaved a sigh of relief.

“In 2014, I was terribly sad leaving PDP reluctantly with 36 other members of the House of Representatives.

“Today, I am the happiest leaving the APC for good. I wish I was never a member of the party.”

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC) national secretary, Bolaji Abdullahi, has resigned his position and left the ruling party.

Abdullahi made this landslide move public on his Twitter page on Wednesday, August 1.

He said that he resolved to resign from his office following recent development in the ruling party.

Abdullahi further said that on several occasions his loyalty to the party has been brought into question.

Nigeria News 2018: Buhari Reacts To APC Senators’ Betrayal | TV

Subscribe to watch new videos


Mailfire view pixel