APC lawmakers move for automatic tickets from party leadership

APC lawmakers move for automatic tickets from party leadership

- Members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the House of Representatives have asked the party's leadership for automatic tickets

- The move by the lawmakers was spearheaded by Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila, the leader of the House

- Gbajabiamila said that the offer of the tickets will be a sort of incentive to the lawmakers who have remained faithful and loyal to the ruling party

Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila, the leader of the House of Representatives, has urged the All Progressives Congress (APC) to give automatic tickets to its members in the green chamber ahead of the 2019 polls, This Day reports.

READ ALSO: Bauchi South bye-election: Senatorial aspirant dumps APC, gives reason

Gbajabiamila, who led other party members in the House to a meeting with the APC leadership in Abuja asked the leadership to consider giving them automatic tickets as reward for their loyalty.

The lawmaker said that the offer of automatic tickets will be a good incentive for the incumbent members who have maintained loyalty, tenacity and commitment to the party even in the face of massive defection of others in the National Assembly to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He also said that the period of recess of the National Assembly will be a hunting time for the PDP, which, according to him, has turned members to commodities that can be purchased.

He, therefore, challenged the party leadership to keep a communication line with members while the break lasts.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

The APC national chairman Adams Oshiomhole, commenting on the large-scale defection to the opposition, said that he is not worried nor will he 'lose his sleep' by the development, adding that political parties must be based on ideology and service to the people.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that there was a rowdy session at the National Assembly on Tuesday, July 24, as 15 senators dumped the ruling APC. The senators, including Dino Melaye and Abdul-Azeez Nyako, announced their defection at the Senate plenary on Tuesday, July 24.

The list containing the senators names was handed over to Bukola Saraki, the president of the Senate, who managed to get to the plenary after a reported blockade in the morning.

Nigeria News: Will Senators, Lawmakers’ Defection from APC Change Power in 2019? | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel