Osun guber: 12 APC governorship aspirants reject direct primary

Osun guber: 12 APC governorship aspirants reject direct primary

- The Osun state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is divided at the moment

- This is due to the party's decision to adopt direct primary option to elect the party’s candidate ahead of the governorship election

- 12 aspirants under the party have rejected the move, arguing that it would cause devastating effect for the party

Twelve of the aspirants of the APC party, all from Osun West Senatorial District, on Tuesday, July 17, rejected direct primary option to elect the party’s candidate ahead of the September 22 governorship election in the state.

Among the nine aspirants present at the conference where the resolution was communicated were, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti, Dr. Peter Babalola, Alhaji Saka Layoonu, Hon. Gafar Amere, Hon. Najeem Salami, Engr. Mumini Olabanji and Dayo Oyebanji.

Addressing journalists at the party secretariat, the Osun West senatorial district chairman, Honourable Amobi Akintola called on the National Working Committee of the party to revert the proclamation of direct party primaries for the conduct of the election without delay to avoid devastating effect for the party.

READ ALSO: Panic in APC as party leadership commences staff audit

The senatorial district according to Akintola, demanded for the usage of delegates system for picking the party’s flag bearer not for selfish interest adding that it is aimed at ensuring the representation of teeming and committed members of the party in the choice of their candidate.

He further posited that delegates primary should be used because there is no verifiable data base of APC members from units level, nor at electoral ward or state level, adding that there is no ascertained APC party members/strength in Osun state.

According to him, the party membership registration has never been updated since 2014, stressing that the adoption of open primaries will lead to chaos of an unimaginable magnitude which would definitely weaken the party strength, resolution of which might not be achieved until 2019 general election.

He added that all the 12 aspirants from Osun West out of the total number of 17 aspirants from the entire state had met and resolved on the adoption of delegates primaries to elect who emerges as the party candidate for the election.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Earlier, youths under the aegis of APC forum of local government youth leaders, rejected the plan to adopt direct primary methods to elect the party's governorship candidate.

The youth leaders, who advised the party's NWC to drop the idea, also canvassed for the zoning of the position to Osun West Senatorial District.

This was contained in a petition signed by 24 youth leaders in the state and was sent to the national chairman of the party, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole through the national secretary, Mai Mala Buni.

Governor Rauf Aregbesola Interview: 'State of Osun' is correct (Exclusive ) on Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel