Nigerian news All categories All tags
2 ministers reportedly denied access into inauguration of APC chairmen in Abuja

2 ministers reportedly denied access into inauguration of APC chairmen in Abuja

- Two ministers in the Muhammadu Buhari government were reportedly not allowed into the venue of the inauguration of state chairmen of the APC

- The report says their aides made efforts to get them into the venue but it was not possible

- Minister Aisha Alhassan says she is not disappointed

Two ministers in the current government, Aisha Alhassan of women affairs and Adebayo Shittu of communication, were reportedly denied entry into the venue of the inauguration ceremony of state chairmen of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the ceremony was in disarray as chairmen that emerged from parallel congresses jostled for recognition.

It was learnt that security operatives were said to have struggled to curtail the surging party members and their supporters.

READ ALSO: Breaking: FG goes tough on smoking of shisha in public, orders police to arrest culprits

According to NAN, despite efforts by the security details of Alhassan and Shittu to get them in, they were not able to enter the hall.

The situation was said to have degenerated into a shouting match and threats by supporters of the factions denied entrance which resulted in the security agents releasing a canister of tear gas to disperse the protesters.

Alhassan, whose faction was already in the hall, said she was not bothered that she was denied entrance into the hall, saying that such situations were normal in politics.

She said: “I was not disappointed at all that I was denied entry into the hall, because I was made to understand that the national working committee restricted the entrance into the hall to only the chairmen for security reasons.

“As a politician, I am not surprised over what happened.”

The factional chairman of the minister of communication was not allowed entrance into the hall while the faction loyal to the state governor, Abiola Ajimobi, was allowed in.

Defending the decision to deny the two ministers entrance, a secretariat staff who pleaded anonymity told NAN that they were not officially invited for the function.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

He added that the ministers only came to ensure that their factional chairmen were among those inaugurated. earlier reported that the national chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, charged chairmen of the party in the states to shun grievances and work towards President Muhammadu Buhari’s re-election in 2019.

#NotTooYoungToRun: Nigerian Youths React to President Buhari’s Gesture | TV


Mailfire view pixel