Time the 2017/18 English Premier League season ended

Time the 2017/18 English Premier League season ended

The Premier League in England is one of the most watched Leagues in the world considering the level of its followers and also the clubs that do campaign in the English top flight.

Over the years, clubs like Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester United, Liverpool, Tottenham, Everton, Manchester City have attracted the attentions of football fans all over the world.

In Nigeria, many of these clubs have their fans in all the states as they all gather in their houses or football viewing centers to discuss and argue about the Premier League.

In fact, watching the Premier League in Nigeria and many parts of the world is seen as a unifying factor that brings people of different background and culture together where they will speak one language which is football.

Many rich people prefer to watch the games among local fans in game viewing centers just because of the arguments and discussions they gain while watching the Premier League.

The Premier League was actually established on February 20, 1992, and it was formed following the decision of clubs in the Football League First Division to break away from the Football League founded in 1888.

There are 20 clubs in the Premier League and during the course of a season, each club plays the others twice once at their home stadium and the other at that of their opponents' ground for a total of 38 games.

Teams receive three points for a win and one point for a draw.

However, the 2017/18 Premier League season has ended where Manchester City emerged champions after finishing first with 100 points.

The season actually started on August 11, 2017, and after 38 games played by all the 20 clubs, it ended on May 13, 2018, in which all the final fixtures were played simultaneously 4pm Nigerian time.

Chelsea who were the 2016/17 champions failed to finish among the top four and the Blues will have to play in the Europa League championship next season after finishing fifth.

Southampton, Stoke City, Swansea City and West Brom are the four teams that have been condemned to the lower division after the end of the 2017/18 Premier League season.

PAY ATTENTION: Become a member of the leading sports Facebook group 'Naija Football Fan Zone'

Earlier, Legit.ng had reported how Stoke City became the first side to be relegated from the Premier League at the just concluded season.

The Potters ended their 10-season stay in the English top flight following a 2-1 defeat to Crystal Palace. Netherlands international Patrick van Aanholt sealed their fate as the Eagles came from behind to win at the bet365 Stadium.

Arsene Wenger Leaving Arsenal: Who Will Take Over Wenger? | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel