Just in: Ondo deputy speaker sacked, replaced

Just in: Ondo deputy speaker sacked, replaced

- Ondo state House of Assembly deputy speaker lroju Ogundeji has been Impeached

- The impeached deputy speaker staged a walkout while the plenary was ongoing

- The reason for the action of the lawmakers against Ogundeji has not been observed

The Deputy speaker of the Ondo state House of Assembly Iroju Ogundeji was on Tuesday, May 23 impeached by his colleagues in the House during the plenary session of the Assembly.

Punch reports Ogundeji, who represents Odigbo Constituency II in the Assembly and member of the APC was removed after 18 out of the 26 lawmakers had signed for his removal and the signature was received by the Speaker of the House Bamidele Oloyeloogun, during the session.

The reason for the action of the lawmakers against Ogundeji was not known yet as of the time of filing this report; but a source told our correspondent that the former deputy speaker was removed following some allegations of “gross misconduct” leveled against him.

READ ALSO: You’re not with us, APC chairman attacks Buhari’s minister

Another source in the Assembly said that Ogundeji ‘s impeachment came as a result of the “misunderstanding that ensued between him and the speaker.”

The former deputy Speaker was among the 18 lawmakers who defected to the ruling party from the Peoples Democratic Party shortly after Governor Rotimi Akeredolu became governor in February 2017.

Ogundeji was immediately replaced by Bimbo Fajolu, who represents Ile Oluji/Oke Igbo state Constituency.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Fajolu’s nomination for deputy Speaker was moved at the plenary session by Israel Olajide, and was seconded by a former Speaker, Jumoke Akindele.

The new deputy speaker was immediately sworn-in by the Clerk of the House Bode Adeyelu.

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had reported Ondo state House of Assembly appointed an acting Speaker, Malachi Coker, following the resignation of the Speaker, Jumoke Akindele in Akure.

The legislators at the plenary session, also appointed Arowele Samuel from Owo l Constituency, as the deputy speaker.

Others are Olamide George, representing Akure North Constituency as the Majority Leader and Mukaila Musa as the Minority Leader.

Ambode's second term is shaking, says Lagos woman - on Legit.ng TV:

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel