Kano lawmakers settle differences amid impeachment threat

Kano lawmakers settle differences amid impeachment threat

- The differences between warring lawmakers in Kano state House of Assembly have been settled

- All members of the Kano state House of Assembly on Wednesday, May 16, agreed to let the sleeping dogs lie over an impeachment process against the speaker

- The new development followed the intervention of the Kano state governor Abdullahi Ganduje on the crisis between the lawmakers

The aggrieved members of the Kano state House of Assembly have agreed to shelve their plan to impeach the speaker, Alhaji Yusuf Ata, following the intervention of Governor Abdullahi Ganduje.

The spokesman of the aggrieved legislators and former speaker of the House, Alhaji Kabiru Rurum, announced the decision of the members while addressing a news conference in Kano on Wednesday, May 16, night.

“We wish to inform you that the executive governor of Kano state, Abdullahi Ganduje as well as party leadership in the state have waded into the crisis that engulfed our assembly. They also ensured that the crisis ended in an no winner no vanquished.

READ ALSO: We are watching developments and troops are on standby - Army reacts to Police/ Shiite crisis

“As loyal legislators of this honourable House, who respect the supremacy of the leadership of the Executive Governor and party leaders in our state, we wish to state that we are in agreement with the decision taken," he said.

Rurum said the concerned members were fully in support and agreement with the decision taken during the meeting which took place on Tuesday night, May 15, at the Government House, Kano presided over by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje.

He said the agreement reached at the meeting are as follows:

1. That Yusuf Abdallah Ata (Fagge constituency) should remain as speaker.

2. That Kabiru Rurum (Rano constituency) to serve as deputy speaker.

READ ALSO: Fear, as new ‘child-killing virus’ surfaces; govt releases details of symptoms

3. That Mohammed Bello Butu-butu (RiminGado/Tofa constituency) to serve as majority leader.

4. That Bappa Babba Dan agundi (Kano Municipal constituency) to serve as chief whip.

5. That Sanusi Usman Bataiya (Albasu constituency) to serve as deputy majority leader.

6. That Ayuba Labaran Durum (Kabo constituency) to serve as majority whip.

He, therefore, appealed to all members and the general public to remain calm and assured them of their commitment to the rule of law and total discharge of their legislative duties in the interest of the electorate. He said the House would reconvene on Thursday, May 17 for deliberation.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, Legit.ng earlier reported that a group had called for the impeachment of the principal officers of the Kano state House of Assembly.

The group, G24, which comprised of mainly members of the House announced the impeachment of the lawmakers.

The announcement was made by the leader of the group, Kabiru Alhassan Rurum of Rano constituency. He said the feat was achieved by the simple majority of their number.

Aircraft purchase: Should President Buhari be impeached? Abuja residents react - on Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel