Nigerian news All categories All tags
Breaking: Police promote EFCC chairman Magu, 17 others

Breaking: Police promote EFCC chairman Magu, 17 others

- Police Service Commission (PSC) has again promoted 18 senior officers to their next ranks

- The chairman of EFCC, Ibrahim Magu, who was deputy commissioner of police was promoted to the rank of commissioner of police

- PSC had on Thursday, April 19, promoted 45 police officers who arrested billionaire kidnapper Evans

The Police Service Commission (PSC) on Friday, April 20, announced the promotion of 18 senior officers including the acting chairman of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Ibrahim Magu.

Premium Times reports that he was promoted to the rank of a full commissioner from deputy commissioner of police.

READ ALSO: Suspected armed bandits allegedly kill 20 people in Zamfara villages gathered that Magu was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2015 to lead his administration’s anti-corruption efforts but despite repeated nominations to the National Assembly, lawmakers declined to ratify his appointment, the president said he would keep him in the position.

The new promotion was contained in a statement by Ikechukwu Ani, a spokesperson for the PSC.

The statement read: "The Police Service Commission has approved the promotion of eighteen senior police officers. The promotions are one of the high points of the commission’s 27th plenary meeting which ended in Abuja today, Friday, April 20th, 2018.

"The meeting was presided over by the commission’s chairman Sir. Dr. Mike Mbama Okiro, a retired Inspector General of the Police.

"The commission approved the promotion of AIG Agbola Oshodi-Glover in charge of zone 11, Osogbo, to the next rank of a Deputy Inspector General of Police.

"CP Ghazzali Mohammed, Commissioner of Police, Administration, DLS, Force Headquarters and CP Peace Ibekwe Abdallah, former Commissioner of Police, Ebonyi state command and currently , CP, Force Intelligence Bureau, Force Headquarters were promoted to Assistant Inspector General of Police.

"The acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), DCP Ibrahim Mustapha Magu, DCP Ebere C. Onyeagoro, DCP Administration, Kaduna State Command and DCP Moshood O. Gbolarumi, DCP Maritime, Lagos, were promoted to the next rank of Commissioner of Police.

"Other promotions approved by the commission include; one Assistant Commissioner of Police to Deputy Commissioner of Police, Nine Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners of Police, one Deputy Superintendent of Police to Superintendent of Police, one assistant Superintendent of Police to Deputy Superintendent of Police and one Inspector to assistant Superintendent of Police.

"Chairman of the commission, Dr. Okiro congratulated the newly promoted officers and urged them to rededicate themselves to the service of their fatherland. He assured them that the Commission will continue to pay attention to their basic entitlements which include regular promotions.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, had previously reported that the Police Service Commission (PSC) on Thursday, April 19, said that 45 officers who participated in the successful arrest of notorious kidnap kingpin, Evans, have been granted special promotion.

Are Nigerian Policemen the worst in the world? - on TV


Mailfire view pixel